We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Madison”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Walking distance to much of the UW campus, state capital, shopping and dining. Big room, great bed, fluffy towels. Staff friendly and helpful. Parking included. And those yummy DT cookies at check-in. Just what a downtown hotel should be.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Beth, Wow! Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling the area with your family. Complimentary parking and our famous DoubleTree cookies are key features that make us the, "perfect place to stay in Madison." Thank You again for taking the time to write such a great review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Our extended family enjoyed a birthday weekend at The Doubletree in Madison. From the reservation phone call to the checkout, everything was perfect. The welcome was warm and so were the cookies:) Our rooms were close together, as promised. They were quiet and comfortable. (No tubs, though. This is not real convenient with small children.) The breakfast was hot and delicious. The servers were attentive and very friendly. We really enjoyed the pool. The location can't be more perfect. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Wow, your title says it all! Thank You for your fantastic review and for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while visiting the area. We are happy to hear you enjoyed a great birthday weekend while staying with us. Without a doubt our staff, service, and location make us a top hotel when in Madison. Again, Thank You for your amazing review and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Double Tree in Madison has been my "go to" hotel for a long time. Its location is ideal for me since it is proximate to the part of the UW Campus that I most often visit for meetings. Even if it wasn't so well situated geographically I would probably still stay there because of the superior service that I receive on every visit. The staff goes out of their way to make sure that every aspect of my stay is positive. The quality of the food in the restaurant is more than adequate plus there are a number of fine dining establishments within easy walking distance should I choose to eat elsewhere. The wifi is reliable although not as fast as I would like, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the recent remodeling of the bathrooms is a definite upgrade. Parking is more than adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank D9684HLjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

John, Wow! Thank You for being a loyal guest of ours and continuing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison. Our award-winning staff, superior location, and service help make our guests' stays a positive experience. Thank You again for remaining a devoted DoubleTree guests and we can't wait to see you on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Staff very friendly, easy check-in. Close to campus - can walk everywhere. Clean rooms. Safe parking area - easy to get in and out of. Only drawback - can be a bit noisy - since hotel is located on a very busy street. We had our window open at night to enjoy nice breeze, but had to shut it as the auto and motorcycle noise was annoying. Hotel has a restaurant on site, looked good but pricey. Recommend eating lunch at Nitty Gritty a block away - Gritty burgers are the best!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Amy, Thank You for your great review and for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison as your preferred hotel while traveling the area with your family. We love how you described our hotel! Friendly staff, location, and an easy check-in, set our property apart from any other downtown hotel. Nitty Gritty is also a great recommendation when catching a quick bit to eat nearby. Again, Thank You for your review and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Would stay here again.... The staff were very friendly and helpful...I enjoyed every bit of my stay. they are very close to state street which is full of restaurants and very trendy. i also liked Madison...such a clean city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ingrid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Ingrid, Thank You for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling the area. We're thrilled you enjoyed our property, as well as the city of Madison. We agree, being within walking distance of State Street truly is a treat for us! With hundreds of shops and restaurants to choose from, State Street is a must visit when in Madison. Again, Thank You for your time and we can't wait to see you on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Loved my stay at the Double Tree, Rooms and the whole hotel was very clean and everyone was wonderfully nice! I did loose a silver Bic lighter cover with Owls on it, given to me by my Mother it is 40 yrs old and would love it if someone turned it in?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 938janinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison and for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. I have passed along your message to our Housekeeping Department and they are looking into your lost item. Thank You again for your review and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A pleasant surprise at this level. Very comfortable and clean king size room. Friendly and helpful staff. A nice breakfast buffet, more choices than usual. For a short visit, wether passing through or on business, this is a very good place to check in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 548suellend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Wow! Thank You for checking-in with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison. Our award-winning staff is the key to our success in providing superb service our guests, and we're glad it shows! Again, Thank You for kind words and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#11 of 63 in Madison
743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Address: 525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range: £99 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing