We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service Hands Down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Service Hands Down”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We hold an annual meeting in Madison, bringing potential customers from around the country. We've tried other downtown hotels and we keep coming back. Meeting space is just right for groups of 50 or less. And the hotel staff is 100% top notch. They anticipated our needs and were easily accessible throughout our meeting. They treated our attendees like royalty -- which was the whole purpose of the meeting. Plus their shuttle service saves at least $25 in cabs each way to and from the airport. Location is ideal as well. Can't say enough about how much I appreciate the staff and this property! The only complaint was that the elevators are small and slow, so if you're checking in or out during a busy time, plan an extra few minutes to wait.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyer064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Wow! We are absolutely blown away by your amazing review and we Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison for your business meeting. Our staff is simply amazing! They're constantly going above and beyond to treat our guests, as you said it, like "royalty". We're also glad you mentioned our complimentary shuttle, as well as our location. The combination of these features truly separates us from any other downtown Madison hotel. Thank You again and we can't wait to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    233
    51
    17
    8
See reviews for
284
163
72
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great setting and home-base for a reunion! 11 ladies (and one husband) came for a weekend from all over the US (CA and DC, CO, MN, WI, etc) and we didn't stop talking and laughing except to go to sleep...great beds, BTW. Enjoyed the restaurant too. Never heard a complaint about the accommodations, and we are all over 75!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Susan, Thank You for your superb review and for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison for your reunion. We were so happy we could host your group and are thrilled to hear about the great accommodations. Our Badgerland Bar & Grill is a great place to grab breakfast or even a succulent steak! Thank You again and we hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for a campus visit with my husband and two teenage sons. The staff was warm and professional. The free cookies at check-in were delicious. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite, which had more than enough room for all of us. Location is great - close to campus and close to State Street action.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Deborah, Thank You for your review and for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while visiting the University of Wisconsin. With our property so close to the UW campus, as well as State Street, we're one hard location to beat! A warm, welcoming cookie to go along with a professional, award-winning staff makes our hotel the best in Madison. Thank You again and Go Badgers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
streator, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed because our daughter was in a race. Would stay again. employees were very nice & helpful & graciously answered all of our questions. The hotel was clean. The warm cookies at check-in were a nice touch. The restaurant was very convenient and the food was good. The rooms were quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Jane, Thank You for your great review and for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while staying with us during the Madison Mini-Marathon. We're glad that so many great features of our hotel including, our award-winning team, our delicious cookies, and Badgerland Bar & Grill made your weekend stay with us so enjoyable. Thank You again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois, USA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It was move-in weekend for our daughter at the University of Wisconsin. We knew it would take us a full day, so rather than driving home late, we decided to spend the night on campus, and spread our move-in activities into Sunday.

Location was the most important factor, we picked the closest campus hotel to our daughter's place. It was the DoubleTree. It turns out it was a good choice, and we'd recommend it to other parents of UW students.

The hotel is right next to the Capitol building, and a surprisingly short drive to campus. We were running late, and we called the hotel making sure they were holding our room.

The DoubleTree staff members who talked to us on the phone and checked us in were very friendly and helpful. We were surprised by the warm cookies at check-in.

Our room was pretty normal. Bed was nice and plush. Normal flatscreen TV and desk area; it was nice they had a charging station on the desk to help with recharging our mobile gadgets. There was a refrig and microwave; wifi was included for free, but we didn't use it. The bathroom had clearly been remodeled -- nice. It had a walk-in shower where there used to be a bath. The air conditioning worked really well.

On parking: as you are driving East from campus on Jackson Street, the hotel drive-up connects to a small parking garage. It's was always full. We scooted around the block and parked in the lot behind the hotel on Marion Street. It was 3/4 full.

I suppose it was the prime location, but the hotel was expensive. It wasn't a football weekend, but it sure felt like we were paying a premium price. After staying here, the location was so good, we'd pay the same price next time.

The hotel has a nice restaurant and a normal guest shop that sells junk food, microwave dishes, and sundries. Good things for a hotel as nice as this to have, but we didn't use either; not this trip anyway.

Room Tip: More parking in the back off of Marion Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkozik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Wow! Thank You for your detailed review and for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison over UW-Madison move-in weekend. It certainly is a busy and stressful time in the city and we're glad we could provide you with great accommodations. Location, complimentary parking, and award-winning staff are truly defining factors that separate us from all other downtown Madison hotels. Again, Thank You and we hope to see you on your next visit to the UW!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I was here for a training in Verona. The location is great. The front of the house staff was very friendly. It was an easy drive to get to the training site. Multiple great dining sites in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Arys N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Arys, Thank You for your great review and for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling with us on business. Premier location and award-winning staff, are just two great qualities that set us apart from all other downtown Madison hotels. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again on your next trip into town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A DoubleTree is a DoubleTree, but this one exceeded expectations, from the warm, efficient welcome, to the easy self-parking (free) and excellent room, with a view of the Capitol. Well placed for State Street, which is what you want in Madison. And we got a very good rate. Only let-down was the rather small and hard-to-access pool. Definitely recommended for a stay in this delightful (albeit construction-ridden) town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTVproducer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
"Exceeded expectations" is a phrase we strive to hear our guests say after each and every stay with us! Our location is unbeatable, and with other great amenities such as our complimentary parking, our award-winning staff and views of the Capitol, we are the must stay downtown Madison hotel. Thank You for your recommendation and we can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Address: 525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing