We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest hotel on our trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Menasha, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nicest hotel on our trip!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We just got back from a trip to Myrtle Beach and were very pleased that the last leg of our trip ended with a stay at the Concourse Hotel. We've been there before, due to UW Hospital and Clinic visits, so we knew to expect a clean, updated, quiet room. We were not disappointed in the least. It was our favorite hotel on our 10 day trip. The pool is nice, the staff are very helpful at directions around the capitol and at suggesting different restaurants, shopping etc..depending on what you are looking for. We love the easy check out. We love the parking in the lower ramps for handicap accessability. There is a nice breakfast available on site, but there is a charge, but it's more upscale dining than most hotels we've stayed at. We love it there..first choice of ours when booking a room in Madison.

Chris L.

Room Tip: Request a view of the capitol if at all possible. At night it's spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    309
    81
    21
    11
See reviews for
216
377
63
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I spent two comfortable nights in Madison, WI at the Concourse Madison. The Governors Club is the place to be. Complimentary drinks, appetizers, and dessert in a fun, friendly atmosphere. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Just had one issue one night with the wifi internet speed, but this was resolved. The hotel is centrally located to the business district and to State St. Many good restaurants are within walking distance or a just a very short cab ride away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBikeMechanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed overnight twice for business. Very nice location right off of the capital. Parking included for extra $10. Difficult to get to the first time, not hotel's fault, streets circle around capital and some are one way.
Rooms clean, spacious.
Breakfast was good, not included in stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda1234567890123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

When working in Madison I go out of my way to stay at the Concours! I especially appreciate the Govenor's Level. The food is terrific, the service great, and the rooms are very comfortable.

An added bonus, is that for most of my work in Madison, the location is perfect.

Room Tip: I particularly enjoy having a room on the Govenor's Level facing the Capital Dome, it's a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
195 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I've had to stay here for several short business trips. The staff has always been very polite and service oriented. With each stay my room has been clean and comfortable. I have eaten at both the restaurant and "The Bar" and have enjoyed the food.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have been to this hotel twice in last month. We used this hotel to commute back and forth from EPIC software training. The rooms are very quiet at night and the beds are comfortable. There is a choice of pillows which I really liked. The staff is very helpful in setting up dinner plans. The hotel is very centrally located to a ton of good restaurants that are all reasonable. There is a very decent breakfast at the Governor's club.

Room Tip: The Governor's club gives you access to free breakfast and drinks at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dochop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Madison is my adoptive home town, and Madison Concourse is right in the heart of it. I stay there every time I visit Madison, mostly for location, and for the special feeling of having a beer at the Governor's lodge with a full view of the Capitol. Rooms have been updated recently, but, strangely, the monstrous, noisy, obsolete climate control units stayed in place. Welcome to the 1970s ! The construction in the underground garage seems to never end, and a pile of garbage welcomed me at the entrance when arrived in early February. My major complaint however is abominable breakfast food at the Governor's lodge. Mushy bagels, orange juice that tastes like car battery acid, tepid coffee that tastes like dishwater, no-name cream cheese that would work better as caulk in the bathroom. After paying premium for staying in the Governor's club, I really resented having to waste another hour to find a decent breakfast in the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlafBig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Property: Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing