We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, nice room and a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Having stayed in this hotel three of four seasons I can assure the reader the professionalism and welcoming nature every person working here was commendable during each trip. For example I had a fussy door one visit and one of maids saw me struggling with the card and offered immediately to help, later a maintenance person. Although the door could have worked better I would much rather stay somewhere with helpful staff and a sticky door, than a perfect door and aloof staff.
The rooms range in size but were all clean and well maintained. I loved the bathroom shower in a couple of rooms. They worked well and were nicely designed without the need for mats (which I really dislike).
The only downside for one room was the proximity to the garbage cans used by the building across the street. Although I was six floor up the 4:30 garbage pick daily up was a bit annoying.
As others noted there is a lot of things to do and

Room Tip: The governors club is a good choice for larger, typically quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarklynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 768 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We used to book normal rooms and then moved to governer's club rooms--great decision. Bigger rooms, whirl pool and of course the lounge facilities. I like their cocktails and disserts much. Staff is very helpful. check-in easy. And the location is great. There are food and entertainment options close by. Not to mention the farmer's market (Sunday), and three museums, all walking distance.

Room Tip: Book Governer's club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyahd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My trip to Madison WI couldn't have gone any better since I stayed at the Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club. The front desk service and the Governor's club made the trip a wonderful experience. We were there for opening day of the farmers market on the Capitol square. The Front Desk staff and the Governor's Club staff gave us some helpful hints how to enjoy the Farmers Market as well as enjoy the surrounding area. One of people traveling with us drop their phone outside the front of the hotel. The Bell Captain followed them and when they stopped at a gas station asked if the phone belonged to them. Very nice of them to do that.

Room Tip: Get a room that includes access to the Governor's Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

In short, the Madison concourse is conveniently located and all around a pleasant experience! The staff is always very accommodating and happy to meet your needs in order for you to be comfortable with your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbiggs86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights on Governors Club. Breakfast was wonderful and full of many choices. Appetizers were delicious and the variety was great. Adam,the bartender went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. The room was clean and the beds and linens were out of this world. Front desk was always cheerful and ready to assist us in any way. Will definitely stay here again. Conveniently located

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skettyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I arrived on a cold night in Madison, obviously struggling to lug three large suitcases in the door, while three desk clerks twelve feet away briefly watched my struggle and went back to shuffling paper. No bellman to help, either. The room was small and nondescript: nothing special, nothing distinctive. On three separate occasions, the internet connection didn't work--once for more than two hours when timing was critical for a document that I was trying to finish and send. The problem wasn't with my computer, as I could access the internet in the lobby, just not up on my floor. Next, my travel plans changed and I needed to stay an extra night in Madison, so I checked to see if I could get a room with a king sized bed if I were to stay another night. I was told yes, only to find the next day that I was actually on a waiting list for a king sized bed, with no guarantees. Everything took a lot of effort in this hotel. On the positive side, the restaurant staff was very friendly and the food was good. I notice now in retrospect that some of the most positive reviews for this hotel refer to stays in the Governor's Club near the top of the hotel, so perhaps the service and experience are much better up in the more rarified air. In my case, I ended up not staying the extra night at this hotel, but switched to a nearby hotel where I received better service and a more comfortable room and regretted not having moved out of the Concourse earlier. It was a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anemoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Definitely get a room with Governors club access. Love it here. Very accommodating for business or pleasure. Comfy beds and super clean. Centrally located and shuttle service w/in two miles for dinner or whatever else.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank CocoSmooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
733 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range: £118 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing