We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lafayette, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great city”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It had been a long since my last visit to Madison and I was very impressed with both the city and the Concourse. The area around the Capitol building is beautiful. Lots of great restaurants. Walk over to the UW campus, it is worth the hike. The Concourse is in a great location. The hotel is obviously old but the room we stayed in was very up to date. As some other reviews have said, it is worth paying a little more and staying on the Governors Club floors. The Capitol building is lighted at night so I would suggest requesting a room that looks out on the Capitol. The other rooms look to one of the two lakes that surround Madison and there is certainly nothing wrong with those views.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    317
    82
    21
    12
See reviews for
221
384
64
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I splurged a bit and stayed on the 12th floor and the Governors Club. They had an open bar from 4:30pm to 10:30pm; hot appetizers followed by dessert at 9pm; Continental breakfast with hot eggs the next morning from 6:00 to 9:30am. Beautiful view of the state capital building from the club. Great access to the Monona Lake Terrace and to State Street for a large selection of bars, restaurants, and shops... all walking distance. Huge wedding party in the club... lots of fun. The venue is not 5 stars by any comparison (most likely a 4)... but it still rates an excellent... and from our perspective... highly recommendable. Enjoy

Room Tip: great indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This our number one pick for our visits to Madison. We have stayed here many times with friends. Always on the governor's flight which is the top floors of the hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. These floors are restricted which makes it feel more exclusive and also includes a small bar on the upper level which is only accessible to those who stay on the governor's flight.These rooms are a bit pricey but worth it if you enjoy a little extra privacy.
The hotel is right next to the capital and close to many restaurants bars and shops with an amazing view of the capital building.
Staff is always friendly and professional.
The decor may not be as up to date as new hotels but it does feel like you're staying in a piece of history.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Concourse. I stayed here for two nights while in town for a wedding. The location is excellent...right downtown, within walking distance of square, Capitol, and State Street. Everyone I came into contact with at the hotel was extremely friendly, outgoing, and helpful. The rooms have all been recently renovated. Everything is nice and new and the room was very clean. Loved the updated look. Bathroom was excellent for a hotel bathroom...Bath & Body Works toiletries, great shower! Room service was great and quick. I was expecting to have to take a cab to wedding location and was offered a complimentary shuttle and was able to call for a pick up. My only tip would be to check into nearby parking ramps for parking. The hotel does have underground parking, but the stalls are very tight and it has several large concrete columns that create blind spots. Overall, can't beat the location and service. I've stayed in many hotels and would definitely come back to this one. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubsfan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Concourse is a great location for a visit to Madison. The location is unbeatable with access to State Street, the Capitol and the UW campus. Rooms are always reliable and the service is fantastic - I left a charger in my room when we checked out and it was shipped to me promptly. It's my usual hotel for trips to Madison.
Jeff (New York)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights traveling on business. My room was on the 10th floor, and was very clean. The bathroom was a recent remodel with new looking tile and a glass shower. They had Bath and Body Works shampoo and conditioner which I thought was a nice upgrade. I was very pleased with my stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFun7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The location and view are very nice for sure. The facilities may have not been updated since the 80's. It is not a modern or even eclectic feel. It's a mediocre conference hotel awkward feel. The room was very clean and comfortable, but not much better than any Hyatt Place, even a lower scale Hilton. This hotel is priced much higher than it's competitors that are in the same vicinity, and it is not worth spending the extra money in my opinion. Plus the elevator stuck on floors that I did not select, multiple times, and they still let people use the same elevator.

Room Tip: Choose one with a view of the Capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfrinzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Property: Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing