We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Abingdon Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great location and accomodations”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Went there for a family wedding for a weekend stay and couldn't have been more pleased.
Rooms were great, clean and spacious. Staff was excellent and helpful in every way possible.

Location was perfect. Close to the capital and University club where the wedding reception was. And my wife enjoyed the farmer market around the capital on Saturday. Best ever she says. Pool and sauna area were great with towels availbel and very relaxing. Tyhe proximity of night life on stat street can't be beat and the shuttle provided by the hotel from the wedding was a godsend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25SteveJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    313
    81
    21
    11
See reviews for
217
379
64
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

You cannot beat the location, especially if you are in town for the weekend between May and early October, when the world's BEST farmer's market is a block away. For a true Madison experience, you want to be close to State Street, campus, bascom hill and memorial union. Museums,civic center are all within walking distance too!
-staying on The governor's level is more expensive, but worth it. You can have drinks/appetizers in evening, and nice breakfast/bloody Mary's or coffee in mornings, in the lounge, in your fluffy ROBE,or take things to your room. Very friendly service, and updates over the years make it one of the best places to stay in Madtown, bar none.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueZq48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We recently stayed here for a convention. We enjoyed an easy check in and went on up to our room. The room was so nice and roomy! The bathroom also was nice sized. We certainly weren't bumping into each other! The beds very comfortable.

Being able to access the internet easily is a must for us. We had no problems at all doing that.
The breakfasts that we ate there were very good. Nice presentation and excellent taste.

If ever in the Madison area again we will certainly consider staying at here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCHS1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We came to the Madison Concourse Hotel to celebrate our anniversary. We booked a room on the Governor's Club floor. Service was fabulous & we had a great time. Will definitely come back again!!! Service, food & cocktails were outstanding!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location near the Capitol and a State Street shopping area. Shuttle ride and check in went well. Room quite dark, had to use bedside lights, air conditioning worked. Window opened a few inches so we could have a bit of fresh air. Went to make a coffee and a used coffee bag was in the machine, which I gave to the front desk. Room service people were very good. On a disappointing note, my daughter left some small change on the table near her bed, along with other of her things - it was gone when we came back to the room. I would most likely try a different hotel if we get back thus way.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sythie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My buddies and I have been attending the Great Taste of the Midwest beer festival for the past eight years and have stayed at the Concourse every year except one, when we tried a neighboring downtown premium hotel. We went back to the Concourse the following year and have booked there every year since.
Just one block off the main square and gorgeous Wisconsin State Capital building, you're easy walking distance to a number of great restaurants, bars and brewpubs and the Children's Museum. And during the summer months the main square farmer's market every Saturday morning is insane...the best I've ever attended.

Room Tip: My tip for choosing a good room (or for anything else at the hotel) is to simply to contact their st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way through Madison this summer.

Friendly staff, very clean, room was updated, spacious and beautiful. Location is right in the centre of town with walking distance to all of the restaurants, shops and sights.

They were about to remodel the lobby which as a bit dated, the drawings for the new decor looked beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyinutopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Property: Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing