We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best gelato in Wisconsin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Java Cat

Java Cat
Ranked #138 of 975 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best gelato in Wisconsin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Take it from one who has eaten gelato in Italy and Argentina this is the best gelato I have found in Wisconsin. The imported flavors are superb. They make over one hundred flavors but only about a dozen are available every day. Java Cat is also a fine coffee shop with fair trade coffee and fine sandwiches and baked goods. A real community cafe providing free WiFi and local event announcements it is a great place to enjoy a relaxing meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mzungu333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The real thing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Amazing gelato with authentic Italian "zing" to the flavors. The lemon was just like the gelato I had in San Gimignano, Italy! This place is fabulous. Lots of great coffee choices and good service...even a little outdoor seating area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank countrygalsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OMG!!! Heavenly Gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

While I may be short on funds to ever get to Italy, Java Cat brings a taste of it right here in Madison. Talk about heavenly, the gelato is DIVINE to say the least. Unable to comment on the coffee as I've never been a coffee drinker, though we've heard good things about it. Hope they stay for a LONG time to come,or are welcome to set up in my back yard any day. Seriously, I could eat this every day, morning, noon, & night & never tire of it. Very refreshing, I especially love the wild berry flavor & pink grapefruit. Enjoy if you have an opportunity, you'll be glad you did!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Khariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McFarland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful comfortable place to hang out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

The food is great and affordable, and it is a really nice place to hang out. They have wifi and it is a great place to look for fliers and announcements about what is going on.

Staff is very nice and they make you feel comfortable

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monona, WI
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Java Cat of Madison (Only in the) summer!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

The summer-time is the only time to go! The Gelato is great, though I miss the summer staff! In '09, Jimmy(?) was there. Great service, friendly attitude and sweet personality!

The new flooring was a welcome change. The Latte I had with Jimmy and conversation were terrific. I've been back, sence, in the A.M. ..
Coffee's hot and good! Mild. Cat, (Black-haired diva) is the only reason to go. Unless, of course it's summer and you aren't up for Michale's Frozen Custard.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Java Cat also viewed

 
Monona, Madison
 

Been to Java Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing