We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Madison West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Suites Madison West
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is the third time that we have stayed with our family of 6 at this hotel and we keep coming back. It is clean and comfortable, and the staff are all very friendly. The cost of the hotel is great for what you get and it is in a quiet, safe location close to the Beltline. The bedding has been up updated and long gone are the bedspreads, replaced instead with white comforters that smelled freshly laundered, and were also fluffy and cozy. (I mention this because hotel bedspreads skeeve me out and I am always glad to know that there are no bedspreads.) Being that it is August and hot out we ran the air conditioner all night, but it was quiet and didn't disturb our sleep as some hotel air conditioning units do.

There are two reasons that I docked a point from my overall rating. First is the fact that the pool seemed way overly chlorinated. My husband had taken our kids and my friend's kids to the pool and when they came back to the room after an hour the smell of chlorine on them was overwhelming. None of my kids has ever had problems with chlorine, but this time 3/4 of my kids did. My oldest daughter had a rash break out on her body from it. My second child's eyes were bright red and burning/itching. Unfortunately showering did not relieve this and she was uncomfortable all night. My 3rd child's eyes were also irritated, although they were just a bit pink instead of red. I don't know if the pool is always that heavily chlorinated or if it was a lone incident.

The second reason that I docked a star from my rating is because of the breakfast. When we stayed here last a few years ago there were fresh scrambled eggs and quality sausage. This time around it was the frozen egg patties and mushy sausage. The milk seemed to be powered milk and my kids would not drink it. The other food options included waffles, donuts and low-quality bagels, but the staff did not do great keeping things stocked. The waffle batter was out for 15+ minutes, which is a long time when the breakfast area was busy and people were waiting around for the batter to be restocked. I know the staff were aware of it, because another hotel guest had informed me when I first got into the breakfast area with my family that he had let a staff member know a few minutes prior. The eggs were also out for at least 10 minutes and the bread options also ran out for a period of time.

In the grand scheme of things the breakfast issues are not the end of the world given the price of the hotel and how great everything else was, but it was still disappointing.

I also wanted to mention our experience in the bar since there seems to have been issues with a bartender according to recent reviews. My friend and I went into the bar at about 8 PM, and we experienced friendly, prompt service from the bartender. We had been given free drink cards for happy hour (according to the hotel guest book happy hour happens Monday-Saturday evenings.) However, happy hour ended at 7 PM and we didn't get to use them, but that was no fault of the hotel or the bartender. There is a decent selection of beer, wine, and spirits. I had two gin martinis and my friend had two New Glarus Spotted Cow's. The prices were about what we would have paid if we had bought the drinks at a restaurant. ($4 for each Spotted Cow and $6 each for the martini's.)

Despite the issues with the pool and the breakfast we will be back. It's by far the best hotel value in Madison and I recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wifamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    80
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
74
36
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kaukauna
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We spent a night at the Comfort Suites and found it to be a nice friendly place. We were greeted pleasantly at the front desk when we arrived, and it was very quick and easy to check in.

Our room was on the third floor and the hotel has only one elevator, maybe two would be more convenient to cut down on wait times, but it was nothing major. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The only two issues were minor. One, was that when you lay in bed, you cannot see all of the TV because it is sitting too low on a dresser. It should be raised or mounted on the wall. The other is that this was a handicap room, (which is what I need). But I found the shower head too low. It would be great for someone in a wheel chair, if they could get into the tub. There was no tub board for that, or someone under 5 ft tall. Everyone else has to really bend over to use the shower. The shower head is on a slide rail which is adjustable, but the rail itself is set too low, and should be raised or replaced with a longer one.
Other than that our room was very nice. The continental breakfast was very good and well stocked. The area was very clean.

Bottom line is we would stay here again. (but I do hope they raise the shower heads please)
And please put an ice machine on the third floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

They bill themselves as pet friendly, and they are. Our two Westies received a warm welcome and even treats from the desk clerk the next morning. Other than that it's pretty basic. The room was clean and quiet. The continental breakfast was very limited. The location was convenient for the highway, but not much else. If you're looking for something other than pizza delivery, the Dhaba Indian Bistro about three blocks away on Greenway Boulevard was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesGM1253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers on Trip Advisor know about your experience at our hotel. Our staff members strive to provide superior customer service and accommodations to our guests, and always love seeing their furry companions as well. We invite you to visit us again during your next trip to Madison to experience our recent renovations and breakfast upgrades. We hope to you see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Sarah Andler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriends and I are staying here and are absolutely appalled by the bar tender! He is very RUDE and needs to work on his customer relation skills! I have read the reviews on TA and was very open minded walking into the pub, however...the bartenders rudeness was apparent from the start. I have worked in customer service for 15 years and know a thong nor two about the way to speak to customers. This bartender definitely needs a lesson in how to treat the customer! My girlfriends and I only ordered wine, yet he insinuated that we were making his job complicated. I will be speaking to the management before we check out about his awful demeanor.
On a brighter note...we absolutely LOVE our room! There are 6 of us staying in a suit and there is PLENTY of room. Would like to say we'll be back, but due to the rudeness of the bartender, we may think twice. Too bad one bad seed can ruin it for everyone else.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Amie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

However I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your suite.

Please contact me directly in regards to your experience at our bar so I can correct this situation for you.

Rest assured this quality of service is not up to our standards. I'll be sure to address and follow up with our bar staff.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Linda Ly
Front Office Manager
lly@wiscohotels.com
608-836-3033
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This place was wonderful. The continental breakfast far surpassed my expectations! It was awesome and the staff worked hard to keep everything fresh and supplied. The jacuzzi in the room was great, the bed was comfortable and we had more than enough pillows (which is unusual). We really enjoyed the hot tub and heated pool after having a long day on our feet! The hot tub is HUGE with plenty of room for everyone! It was nice that the room did not smell of chlorine.
We especially enjoyed your happy hour and JD, the bartender. He was so awesome! He was a lot of fun to talk to, very courteous and prompt! I loved his hair and wanted to run my fingers through it, but was afraid to ask! Please tell him Joie says, "HI!" I will not forget the good times we had at the bar with him....
If we are ever back in the Madison area we will stay here again! It was wonderful and a good value....
Thank you so much for a memorable, fun and comfortable experience!
Joie G

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the end of June. Friday evening check in was quick despite slow computer issues. Complimentary cocktails 5-7 was a bonus. Although, upgraded drinks may cost $1. Bottles of beer and rail drinks were free.
The room was clean and roomy. The shower head has multiple settings and good water pressure with a rounded shower curtain for extra space. Both beds were surprisingly comfortable and the pull out couch bar, did not prevent sleep. We did not utilize the breakfast as we checked out prior to it opening.
Overall nice stay and I would recommend this location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stay was nice except both of the rooms we booked were damp and uncomfortable. Our rooms smelled musty/moldy/like mildew. My entire family had breathing problems the week we slept there. Also the breakfast area was never fully stocked. The front desk staff was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lettyanne09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison West
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Madison West/Middleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton WI West
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Madison West
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Madison - Junction Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Madison West

Property: Comfort Suites Madison West
Address: 1253 John Q Hammons Dr, Madison, WI 53717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Madison
#28 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Madison West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Madison Wisconsin Hotel is situated walking distance from shopping, dining and more on Madison's West Side. Free hot breakfast buffet daily, free cocktails to the hotel's lounge Mon. - Sat. from 5-7pm, free high speed internet including wireless and free airport shuttle based on availability. Amenities include an oversized pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Relax in a Two Story Suite and/or Whirlpool Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Madison West Hotel Madison
Madison Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing