We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Madison
Ranked #49 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Good and average cheap hotel. Near many restaurants and shops. Although, you are going to need to drive your car to go to downtown. The breakfast is pretty good and you can park for free at their parking lot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oriol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

I booked in June for a 2 night weekend stay in Oct, and just as well - there was a game on in town and the place was full! so I was happy I'd paid half the cost by booking well in advance - rather than just walking in needing a place that day. Had a very handy room right next to reception which was not noisy as I thought it might be - and instead of making coffee in the room, we just nipped out into the breakfast area and made one there, as coffee was constantly available.

Breakfast had lots of choices so all in all, it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

We arrived in madison a day earlier thn planned the motel we had reservations at for the next few days was full so wwe checked in at this econo lodge . The staff wss super helpful and even got us in to a handicapped room which we needed. Th room was very clean and had a microwave and refridgerator. Breakfast was very good donuts,bagles, cereal waffles hard boiled eggs juices,etc. We wished we would have stayed here for the rest of our stay as the hotel we stayed at for the rest of our stay was much higher pricd and no refriderator,microwave,or breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msage2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Wound up here selecting the seceret hotel option in travelocity.. Based on the fact it had pretty good reviews. We stayed one night just needing a place to sleep. It was just OK. Had a king room. Bed was adequate, pillows only had 3 on the king bed.. Bathroom, they attempted to keep it maintained but it was in need of an upgrade and there was a bug in there... Breakfast was very average. But for a cheap one night sleeping only stay it served it's purpose.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiponELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This Econo Lodge was the best I've stayed in. The rooms, lobby and hallways were clean and nice. Staff was friendly. Breakfast had a lot of selections. They also offered some cool theme rooms for local sports teams. The building felt safe and secure. Would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designsbykari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed here this May while returning from fishing in northern Minn riding my bike. I came in tired from the day, found 3 other bikes already in for the night. Plenty of parking lot cameras, bike was more than safe. Clean, large room, friendly staff and guests. For what I needed, it was clean and I slept well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here because we needed a room in Madison for a few nights and, being graduation weekend for the University of Wisconsin, this was one of the few hotels in the city charging less than $100 a night. Since it is an Econo Lodge, we did't have terribly high expectations, however we were pleasantly surprised at how clean and well-maintained this hotel was. The hotel appeared to have been recently renovated, or at least touched up, with fresh paint on the walls and new (or at least very well-cleaned) carpet and tile in the rooms. There was still a very faint smell of fresh paint in the air, and the whole place was bright and well-lit.

Our room was small, but not uncomfortable for three people. Our room had two double beds, but we were told if you book a room with a king bed, there is also a recliner in the room. Contrary to what other reviewers have reported, we found the beds to be very comfortable, so perhaps the mattresses were recently replaced as well. We were also surprised at how quiet the rooms were. despite the hotel being pretty full, we heard very little noise from the hallways or adjacent rooms. My only complaints with the room were the air conditioner, which worked great up until the last night, where it seemed to have a hard time keeping up, and the bathtub, which while extremely clean, had some sort of coating over the porcelain which was beginning to peel apart.

Check in/out were quick. The staff won't win many awards for professionalism, but they were friendly enough. This hotel does have free wireless, which worked great, and a free computer in the breakfast area as well. The free breakfast was good, with a waffle maker, hard-boiled eggs, toast, cereal, juice, a crock-pot full of oatmeal, surprisingly good donuts, and coffee which ran out often because they use a very small pot. The desk worker was always friendly about brewing more, and thankfully their "don't take your breakfast back to your room" policy is very loosely enforced when the breakfast area gets busy.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay here. Madison't largest shopping mall is right across the street from the hotel, and there are plenty of restaurants very close by as well. Madison is one of the most pedestrian and bicycle-friendly cities I've ever seen, so walking around is pretty painless.

Room Tip: King rooms have a recliner, there are also some quirky "themed suites" that would be fun f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SixAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
8.6 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#14 of 64 in Madison
735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#23 of 64 in Madison
282 reviews
5.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#27 of 64 in Madison
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#18 of 64 in Madison
566 reviews
12.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Madison West
11.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Madison

Address: 4726 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3238
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: £39 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Madison 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing