We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a blast! Highly recommend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Comedy Club on State

The Comedy Club on State
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
423 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“What a blast! Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

went here with my UW student, her sister and a friend, and wow did we have a blast! The venue is very cool, hip and fun. Service was great, the specialty drinks, even NA were excellent. I had the tiramisu martini, and let me just say, it was one of the best things I've ever tasted. The girls with me all had NA version of frozen or ice cream drinks and loved them as well. The comics were hilarious, and all commented on how much they love the venue, how the crowd was very respectful but responsive and engaged. Very fun night, we can't wait to go back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wisgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“We Left Laughing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We were visiting Madison and we decided to hit the Comedy Club on State as it was right down the street from our hotel. Hint: the show was sold out on the Comedy Club site but when we went to the comedian’s website, there were tickets available. The Emcee and two comedians had us laughing out loud. The crowd is a mix of bachelorette/bachelor parties, group celebrations, couples and friends just going out to have a good time. We were seated promptly and served immediately. The waitstaff was very attentive throughout the entire night. I would highly recommend, whether you live in the area or are just visiting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DodgerMom668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amateur night is cheap and funny”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Attended amateur night and had a good time. Unlike the other nights they're open they don't have a two drink minimum on amateur night, which was appreciated.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Comedy; bad math skills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We had a group of nine of us who attended a show here on 01/12/2013. We were seated promptly at a large table, our waitress came over right away and introduced herself and got our first round drink order taken (there is a 2-drink minimum). The two comedians and the Emcee were all funny and our waitress was attentive, brought us our drinks promptly, gave us a free one when the bar forgot to mix up two cocktails for our table, and even came around toward the end of the show to confirm what we all ordered.

When she brought our bills over, my husband and I had the only bill that was correct (parties eight or more had the 18% gratuity factored in already), the others in our group all had mistakes, some glaring mistakes on their bills (two $10 service charges?? were on one). Those with mistakes tried to go over their bills with the waitress who only grew flustered and upset and declared she'd have to get the manager to correct everything. Even simply listing what drinks were had and adding them up for her didn't help and she again declared that she'd have to get the manager.

We waited around quite a while for everyone to get their bills corrected before we finally could leave.

End result: If you go, sit back and enjoy the show and then look at your bill closely before your leave, even if you aren't in a large group. Make sure you're not paying for things you didn't order or getting charged "Service Charges" that you shouldn't.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very fun place to have a drink or watch stand up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Went here to see the Sklar Brothers and the venue is clean and comfortable. We were seated in the far back booth next to several other couples, space was a little tight but they were sold out and offered us two free tickets because of this.

Where we were seated were actually great comfortable seats and we could see everything, sound system is not an issue. Get there early for up-front seats..

Service was great with a standard 2 drink requirement as for most comedy clubs. My only complaint here is that beyond the two drinks we were not able to purchase a third from our waitress before the show ended. They close your tab about 10-15 minutes before the show is over, to get you out the door so the next show can start. Kind of felt rushed but whatever it was fun.

Also, very nice bar area if you want to just watch from a separate viewing area and not pay for tickets.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zeppelin1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Comedy Club on State also viewed

 

Been to The Comedy Club on State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing