We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely designed hotel/poor breakfast facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A well-designed hotel can be eye-candy pleasurable but service and a decent breakfast facility either adds or detracts from the experience. I checked in at 1:30pm and the front desk manager said I would have to wait until 3:00 pm for my booked and assigned room. It was raining, and this Fairfield is east of Madison and I needed to be in downtown Madison. Returning to check in was beyond inconvenient. The manager left the front desk and another person took over who found me a room right away that I could check into. Hint: find the right person who can accommodate your needs.

The next morning the breakfast area was packed with adults and kids. Families were spread out all over the room. Chairs were in the aisles, we were asked to give up our four-person table and move to a two-person table in the rear of the room. The sparse breakfast was on a narrow counter at the end of the room. The yogurt/cartons of milk were in a small unlabeled refrigerator. There was no room on the counter to put down a plate, the items were not replenished and those kids and adults trying to get some scrambled eggs, or cereal with 2-3 deep. Things were not replenished. The "fresh" fruit was soupy and depleted. Coffee was empty. I told the same manager who couldn't find me another room to check into the coffee was empty and he laughed.

This hotel has serious management issues, and design flaws in serving the people who partake of their included morning breakfast. However, parking is free and if you need a place to stay be aware of the breakfast area being a problem.

Room Tip: Have a room away from the busy interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingwriter101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is convenient and easy to find off of I-90. Some of the previous reviewers commented that they did not hear traffic noise -- we had a much different experience. We stayed in room 430 which faced the interstate and you could hear a lot of noise from the roadway. The air conditioner in the room was also very loud. The walls are also somewhat thin. We could hear the guest in the room next to ours snoring in the middle of the night. There were several pros, though. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We had asked for a mini fridge when making the reservation and there was one in the room when we arrived. The breakfast items were replenished frequently. Beware dieters -- there are very few healthy food choices and the non-healthy options like cream cheese pastries and sugary muffins are difficult to resist. The hot tub and pool area are nice but small. Our first impressions of the hotel during reservation and check-in processes were not great as the persons assisting us both times were very short and appeared to be distracted. We were in town for the NASP World Archery tournament and the hotel appeared to be at maximum capacity. Staff was not especially friendly but did meet our needs. There was no acknowledgement for being a Marriott rewards member and no cookies available in the lobby as reported by other reviewers...so if you are expecting that, you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the interstate. Ask for room on higher floor so you don't hear people walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I must've spent at least 8 weeks staying at this Fairfield for work and will be coming back again. It's an excellent Fairfield - better than most others I've stayed at. The staff is awesome, the condition is great and the location is quieter/better than most other hotels in the area. Of course, this is still a Fairfield and the breakfast gets old quickly and the gym is very small and gets packed at nights because the hotel is typically very close to full capacity.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigGFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Marriott Chain continues to crank out these Fairfield Inn & Suites across the United States. They become like McDonalds - consistent, comfortable, dependable. Appreciated. Decent value, consistently clean, beds that don't surprise. In short, very good. You will not be "wowed" by this Fairfield Inn location, but the staff was friendly, the entry lobby was very welcoming, and the room did not disappoint. Recommended for a stop off point on a Family Vacation or as a place to catch up on sleep during a business trip.

Room Tip: Near Highway - easy to access - some possible road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuyReallyLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I am a platinum member with Marriott and I normally don't stay at Fairfield properties. The staff was excellent and was very nice. I am not a fan of the breakfast but the were very nice. Good visit for a Fairfield.

Rooms - good size and very clean. No issues at all.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the fairfield inn & suites on a Saturday night as we passed thru to the mall of America. As we checked in we saw a lot of people sitting outside. As we checked in the host was very nice but short with us. I noticed a sign for national baseball tournament. I asked to have a room far away and the host said "already done." We were on the top floor which was a great view. The room as a one king bed and was pretty small for not being a major city "ie New York or Chicago" but was very clean and nice. We couldn't use the pool sure to ask the kids in the ppl from the baseball tournament. It looked nice. The breakfast was very nice and well stocked very hot and cold choices. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. If we are ever in Madison Wisconsin again we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

From check in and waiting 10 minutes after being called to start the check in process while the front desk clerk answered the phone, to being told no upgrade rooms were available tho the hotel was obviously not full. and then getting a room facing highway traffic after that request was specifically made. Then, After going to the very small very crowded dirty swimming pool I returned to find our room smelling of cigarette smoke. I called the front desk and was offered febreeze---nothing else like a room change or a commitment to confront the obviously smoking guest in the next room, we have a non functioning no signal t.v and then encountered a dirty breakfast room with obnoxiously behaving children ( this I can not fault the hotel for). This platinum elite member will not ever return to this hotel nor recommend it to any of her clients, guests or friends and will go out of her way to recommend other hotels in the area

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sedch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#17 of 63 in Madison
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#23 of 63 in Madison
279 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East

Address: 2702 Crossroads Dr, Madison, WI 53718-7914
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Madison
#6 Business Hotel in Madison
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range: £67 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Madison East is located within one mile of over 150 shops and restaurants and is just a hop, skip and a jump off Interstate 90/94 and the Dane County Regional Airport. The hotel is just minutes from downtown Madison, University of Wisconsin, Kohl Center, Covance, Alliant Energy Center and the Overture Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Madison East
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing