We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip to the Henry Vilas Zoo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Trip to the Henry Vilas Zoo”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel from the outside and in. Breakfast was great. Only issue was the oatmeal was very dry. Lots of food to choose from. Nice pool area, the kids really enjoyed themselves. Bed and pillows were so comfortable. Really great stay, will recommend! One thing I do suggest is that they change their policy on paying cash at check-in. I understand when you pay cash ck-in that you need a cc/ debit card on file, but we weren't able to do that. We ended up putting the initial authorization on our debit card, then paying cash at check out. Unfortunately the amount is not released for days and I had some overdraft fees. I've been to many other hotels that allow you to pay cash at check-in. This really should be an option. (With a card on file for incidentals of course)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissMimi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    86
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
90
52
17
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is located just outside the heart of the city. Very easy to get to. There are a bunch of chain restaurants in the area--TGI Fridays, Uno Chicago Grill, Cracker Barrel. The hotel is located right off the highway. My room had a view of the highway, but it wasn't noisy though.

The lobby is nice and well lit. The front desk was friendly and helpful which seems to be a lovely standard at the Fairfield Inn and Suites. My room here was spotlessly clean. Large bathroom, great size room. King bed. Very comfy bed. Got a great night's sleep here. The AC was good. Kept my room cool. Breakfast included scrambled eggs and biscuits and gravy and every imaginable continental breakfast item. This is a great bang for your buck place. The fitness center was clean and nice.

All and all one of the best places I stayed on my book tour. I'd definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilie01010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was a good hotel. The pool area was ok, strong chlorine smell. You are within 10 min drive to lots of food options and to the capital. The breakfast area has a nice balcony you can go out on, just make sure you take your room key to get back inside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stopped and stayed at this hotel for one night while on vacation. It was in a very nice, safe location. The hotel seemed newer and was very nice. The rooms were clean! The beds were comfortable and we did not hear anything all night. The breakfast was your standard hotel breakfast. We did not use the pool or workout room so I cannot comment on that. We had a great overall experience and would diffently stay in this hotel again. The hotel room did have a frig in it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatFamilyTime5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A well-designed hotel can be eye-candy pleasurable but service and a decent breakfast facility either adds or detracts from the experience. I checked in at 1:30pm and the front desk manager said I would have to wait until 3:00 pm for my booked and assigned room. It was raining, and this Fairfield is east of Madison and I needed to be in downtown Madison. Returning to check in was beyond inconvenient. The manager left the front desk and another person took over who found me a room right away that I could check into. Hint: find the right person who can accommodate your needs.

The next morning the breakfast area was packed with adults and kids. Families were spread out all over the room. Chairs were in the aisles, we were asked to give up our four-person table and move to a two-person table in the rear of the room. The sparse breakfast was on a narrow counter at the end of the room. The yogurt/cartons of milk were in a small unlabeled refrigerator. There was no room on the counter to put down a plate, the items were not replenished and those kids and adults trying to get some scrambled eggs, or cereal with 2-3 deep. Things were not replenished. The "fresh" fruit was soupy and depleted. Coffee was empty. I told the same manager who couldn't find me another room to check into the coffee was empty and he laughed.

This hotel has serious management issues, and design flaws in serving the people who partake of their included morning breakfast. However, parking is free and if you need a place to stay be aware of the breakfast area being a problem.

Room Tip: Have a room away from the busy interstate.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally friendly means the usual these days: towel/linen service or not.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingwriter101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is convenient and easy to find off of I-90. Some of the previous reviewers commented that they did not hear traffic noise -- we had a much different experience. We stayed in room 430 which faced the interstate and you could hear a lot of noise from the roadway. The air conditioner in the room was also very loud. The walls are also somewhat thin. We could hear the guest in the room next to ours snoring in the middle of the night. There were several pros, though. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We had asked for a mini fridge when making the reservation and there was one in the room when we arrived. The breakfast items were replenished frequently. Beware dieters -- there are very few healthy food choices and the non-healthy options like cream cheese pastries and sugary muffins are difficult to resist. The hot tub and pool area are nice but small. Our first impressions of the hotel during reservation and check-in processes were not great as the persons assisting us both times were very short and appeared to be distracted. We were in town for the NASP World Archery tournament and the hotel appeared to be at maximum capacity. Staff was not especially friendly but did meet our needs. There was no acknowledgement for being a Marriott rewards member and no cookies available in the lobby as reported by other reviewers...so if you are expecting that, you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the interstate. Ask for room on higher floor so you don't hear people walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
141 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I must've spent at least 8 weeks staying at this Fairfield for work and will be coming back again. It's an excellent Fairfield - better than most others I've stayed at. The staff is awesome, the condition is great and the location is quieter/better than most other hotels in the area. Of course, this is still a Fairfield and the breakfast gets old quickly and the gym is very small and gets packed at nights because the hotel is typically very close to full capacity.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#21 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#19 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East
Address: 2702 Crossroads Dr, Madison, WI 53718-7914
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Madison
#6 Business Hotel in Madison
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Madison East is located within one mile of over 150 shops and restaurants and is just a hop, skip and a jump off Interstate 90/94 and the Dane County Regional Airport. The hotel is just minutes from downtown Madison, University of Wisconsin, Kohl Center, Covance, Alliant Energy Center and the Overture Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East Hotel Madison
Fairfield Inn And Suites Madison East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing