We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Lowell Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lowell Center
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at the Lowell center while attending an AP conference at the neighboring Pyle Center. Beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. Breakfast was also a pleasant surprise. We stayed Sunday night and attended our conference on Monday. We walked State street on Sunday afternoon, but it was pretty quiet. Overall, a great stay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

This university run "hotel" is conveniently located close to State Street and the campus. Rooms are well appointed, but not too fancy. Rates are very reasonable. Staff are pleasant and very helpful. The included breakfast is well stocked with "to order" eggs now on the menu.
Reserve early if you plan to go for a Badger football game.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElZid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Having stayed on other college campuses for conferences, we were very surprised to find the Lowell Center rooms so large with very comfortable queen size beds. We stayed at the Lowell Center for one week during a conference being held at the University. A full reakfast was included with our room rate every morning. Finding a laundry room on the same floor as our room was a plus. There was an exercise room with three treadmills and a bicycle plus hand weights. It appeared to get very little use during the times I was in there. It was just 3 blocks from the conference center and one block from the main street with a fair assortment of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abkovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is an excellent hotel located close to the heart of downtown Madison. It is walking distance to both the State Capitol and the University of Wisconsin. The rooms are comfortable, and they provide an outstanding complimentary breakfast. It is not cheap, but does provide subsidized rates for government and university related business. I have only one minor complaint. The breakfast ends quite early, at 8.30 rather than at 9.00 or 9.30, which is inconvenient, particularly if you got in late. All in all, I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This remodeled University dorm is really nice and the people who work there very nice. Well appointed rooms with all the modern conveniences. No bathtub but you won't be in the room much anyhow...there is too much to do in close walking distance. The lakes are very close, as are many, many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed for a night prior to moving into the dorms. I was surprised at the location nestled in a residential block and just one block to State Street or Union Terrace. The location was perfect. I requested a high floor with lake view - and the view was terrific. Desk staff were friendly and efficient. The complimentary breakfast was decent. Parking for $8 fee was adjacent to the hotel and appreciated. The room was comfortable and quiet. The room price was very affordable, compared to other hotels near Capitol Square that cost double.

The hotel and the rooms did have visible wear and tear. It is an old dorm that has been remodeled into a hotel. But it was clean and comfortable and that's all we really needed. I will definitely stay again, if I can find it not to be sold out.

Room Tip: high floor "deluxe" room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBpedsRN4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We recently stayed here and were very pleased with the amenities, location, and price. When I found out we would be coming to Madison and needed to stay close to the university we checked on several downtown hotels and were flabbergasted at the rates. Since my husband is with a college we were able to stay here. The room was clean, well-appointed, and more than enough for our needs. Breakfast the next day was above average and included made-to-order omelets. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank TripGalIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
2.9 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#14 of 63 in Madison
728 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowell Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Center

Address: 610 Langdon St, University of Wisconsin-Extension Conference Centers, Madison, WI 53703-1104
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Madison
Price Range: £64 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Lowell Center Lodging in Madison Wisconsin! If you need campus lodging in Madison, Wis., Check us out. Overnight accommodations at The Lowell Center are ideal for persons attending conferences or other events associated with the University of Wisconsin, State of Wisconsin agencies, and other educational and governmental groups. Alumni and parents or family of students are also welcome. Conveniently located at 610 Langdon Street, The Lowell Center Conference & Lodging Facility offers 137 guest rooms,and an indoor swimming pool (the largest hotel pool in the area) and sauna. You'll also find several classrooms, boardroom and break-out areas, a large dining room, and two beautiful reception areas. Our sister facility, The Pyle Center, is located nearby with even more conferencing space available. An expanded continental breakfast is included in the room rate. Guest parking for one vehicle is available on-site for $10 per night, or off-site (three blocks away) at no charge. Additional vehicles are charged $8 per night at either site. Parking reservations should be made in advance of your visit, and reservations are based on availability. This is a non-smoking facility. As a Madison hotel located on the UW campus, we are situated only one block from The Pyle Center and close to vibrant State Street - providing easy access to the best of downtown Madison and UW-campus activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lowell Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing