We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lowell Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lowell Center
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is convenient to the UW campus. The rooms are spacious and televisions have lots of channels. The bathroom is large although there is no tub. But I never take a bath at hotels anyway. The HVAC system was very loud, but did not disturb our sleep.

They're is free wi-fi and breakfast. They will make your eggs on site. There are three waffle markers. Other than that the breakfast is just average, but good enough to get you through the morning.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are lots of local restaurants two blocks away. However, you do have to walk down a hill. Be sure you have your boots it is Wisconsin.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    49
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
5
11
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marinette, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The location is excellent. The lobby is spacious and welcoming. The rooms were extremely comfortable. Several other reviewers mentioned the ambient air temperature as a negative, but since I like my room cool, it was perfect. The bathroom is slightly old school, but that isn't a negative either. The water pressure in the shower was great and the center prides itself on being "green."
The breakfast was amazing. You can get just about anything and it is prepared on site. Another plus? The television was NOT preset to FOX news.
There were pianos everywhere. :-)
I've stayed many places in Madison, but now this is where I will lodge.

Room Tip: You'll probably be on the the 7th floor. No worries! The elevator tells you when you've arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keetwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lowell center while attending an AP conference at the neighboring Pyle Center. Beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. Breakfast was also a pleasant surprise. We stayed Sunday night and attended our conference on Monday. We walked State street on Sunday afternoon, but it was pretty quiet. Overall, a great stay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This university run "hotel" is conveniently located close to State Street and the campus. Rooms are well appointed, but not too fancy. Rates are very reasonable. Staff are pleasant and very helpful. The included breakfast is well stocked with "to order" eggs now on the menu.
Reserve early if you plan to go for a Badger football game.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElZid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new england
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Having stayed on other college campuses for conferences, we were very surprised to find the Lowell Center rooms so large with very comfortable queen size beds. We stayed at the Lowell Center for one week during a conference being held at the University. A full reakfast was included with our room rate every morning. Finding a laundry room on the same floor as our room was a plus. There was an exercise room with three treadmills and a bicycle plus hand weights. It appeared to get very little use during the times I was in there. It was just 3 blocks from the conference center and one block from the main street with a fair assortment of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abkovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is an excellent hotel located close to the heart of downtown Madison. It is walking distance to both the State Capitol and the University of Wisconsin. The rooms are comfortable, and they provide an outstanding complimentary breakfast. It is not cheap, but does provide subsidized rates for government and university related business. I have only one minor complaint. The breakfast ends quite early, at 8.30 rather than at 9.00 or 9.30, which is inconvenient, particularly if you got in late. All in all, I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsburg, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This remodeled University dorm is really nice and the people who work there very nice. Well appointed rooms with all the modern conveniences. No bathtub but you won't be in the room much anyhow...there is too much to do in close walking distance. The lakes are very close, as are many, many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.1 mi away
Graduate Madison
Graduate Madison
#26 of 61 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowell Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Center

Property: Lowell Center
Address: 610 Langdon St, University of Wisconsin-Extension Conference Centers, Madison, WI 53703-1104
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Lowell Center Lodging in Madison Wisconsin! If you need campus lodging in Madison, Wis., Check us out. Overnight accommodations at The Lowell Center are ideal for persons attending conferences or other events associated with the University of Wisconsin, State of Wisconsin agencies, and other educational and governmental groups. Alumni and parents or family of students are also welcome. Conveniently located at 610 Langdon Street, The Lowell Center Conference & Lodging Facility offers 137 guest rooms,and an indoor swimming pool (the largest hotel pool in the area) and sauna. You'll also find several classrooms, boardroom and break-out areas, a large dining room, and two beautiful reception areas. Our sister facility, The Pyle Center, is located nearby with even more conferencing space available. An expanded continental breakfast is included in the room rate. Guest parking for one vehicle is available on-site for $10 per night, or off-site (three blocks away) at no charge. Additional vehicles are charged $8 per night at either site. Parking reservations should be made in advance of your visit, and reservations are based on availability. This is a non-smoking facility. As a Madison hotel located on the UW campus, we are situated only one block from The Pyle Center and close to vibrant State Street - providing easy access to the best of downtown Madison and UW-campus activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lowell Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing