We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel - we'll be back.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wisconsin Union Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Luverne, Minnesota
1 review
“Wonderful hotel - we'll be back.”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Convenient to the campus, lovely rooms, beautiful Union, and friendly professional staff. The free parking in this part of town makes this hotel a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolm076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Public Relations Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Hello,

Thank you for choosing the WIsconsin Union Hotel! We appreciate your positive review of the hotel and we are looking forward to when you come back.

Best Regards,
The Wisconsin Union Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    44
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
70
24
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Student Unions on each campus can be great locations, but not such great places to spend time. The restaurants and lobby and layout of the place was great. We had a wedding reception at the hotel, so it couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suegilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Public Relations Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for choosing the Wisconsin Union Hotel! We are happy that you had a good stay and appreciate the postive feedback! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank You,
Wisconsin Union Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My (now) wife and I are UW-Madison alumni. We stayed here at the new Union South for 4 nights while we were getting married. We had the ceremony and the reception in the Varsity Hall. We were the first wedding in the new building and everything went great! Truly a wonderful time. But staying at the hotel made it even better (and much more convenient)!

We stayed in one of the suites (non-lakeview, room 501) and we loved everything about it. From all the Wisconsin themed pillows to the green initiatives in place, everything was wonderful! This is now my favorite hotel. And whether or not you are a Badger fan, it will be one of yours!

All the staff were very friendly and helpful the whole weekend and they even put wedding favors in all our guest's rooms for us. (We had about 35 rooms with guests.) The suite was roomy and had every amenity you could need. Including a really cool coffee maker that just makes a single cup instantly. Underground parking and wifi is included. The wifi is really good and is throughout the building. There are tons of restaurants and a bar (The Sett) on the first floor, plus tons of patio space with the famous Union chairs. There's a movie theater on the 2nd floor and there's bowling and a climbing wall in the lower level. I didn't even have time to use the exercise facility on the 5th floor (free weights and cardio equipment). The best part of this hotel though is it's location. You cannot beat it: right on campus next to Engineering and Camp Randall! Right in all the student action!

I wish I could live here! But I'll have to settle for whenever we visit Madison. And don't forget to mention your Union membership to get a 10% discounted rate!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WisBadgerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, General Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Greetings,

Thank you for choosing the Wisconsin Union Hotel and we appreciate your awesome feedback. We look forward to serving you in the near future.

Thank you,
Jessica Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

If you are visiting UW-Madison and want a place in the heart of the campus, consider staying at the new Union South. Rooms there are spacious and well-appointed, with all the amenities of a good business hotel. Just downstairs is all the action of the Union itself, across the street is surprisingly good dining at Steenbock Cafe in the Wisconsin Institute for Discovery Building, and all around is the UW campus.

Ask for a room with a view -- south facing rooms look out over Camp Randall Stadium through spacious windows; larger suites look north but through small windows.

Note that the Union food services don't really open until 8 am, so early risers will need to strike out for breakfast elsewhere in the neighborhood. A good option is Mickey's Dairy Bar, a five minute walk up Monroe Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Camp Randall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sconi_Sunnysider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, General Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Thank you for visiting the Wisconsin Union Hotel. We greatly appreciate your input and hope you enjoyed your stay with us! We have addressed the breakfast options available in Union South and our in-house coffee shop, Prairie Fire, which opens at 7:00 A.M., will begin serving items for breakfast in the next few weeks. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#12 of 63 in Madison
665 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisconsin Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisconsin Union Hotel

Property: Wisconsin Union Hotel
Address: 1308 W Dayton St, Madison, WI 53715-1149
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wisconsin Union Hotel - Madison at Union South offers a warm, inviting oasis of ‘green’ hospitality, welcoming you to one of the nation’s most livable cities with peaceful ambiance, artful decor, and unsurpassed service. This brand new 60 room boutique hotel is sure to please. Set in the heart of a vibrant Madison neighborhood, the new Union South is nestled between the Computer Sciences & Statistics Building and Engineering Hall on the south side of the UW-Madison campus, just across Campus Drive from the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing