We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding on-campus hotel option at UW”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wisconsin Union Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Great location on UW campus, and with attached restaurants, shops and services. Excellently run, great rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Public Relations Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Hello,

Thank you for choosing the WIsconsin Union Hotel. We appreciate your review and hope that you are able to stay with us in the future!

Best Regards,
The Wisconsin Union Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

This hotel is great for any Badger fan- the newly decorated rooms are made up in Wisconsin colors and decorations and the bathrooms are modern and spacious. Our room had a mini-fridge, Keurig coffee maker and other nice amenities. There was even a brand-new workout room on our floor with TVs at every station. With the student discount the price can't be beaten! Would certainly recommend to friends and family traveling to Madison!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmlacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Public Relations Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Hello,

Thank you for choosing the Wisconsin Union Hotel and for giving us such a wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed both the decor and your stay and we are grateful that you will recommend us. We hope that you are able to stay with us in the future.

Best Regards,
The Wisconsin Union Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Stayed at Wisconsin Union Hotel, and had a very enjoyable stay. Great location, and plenty to do. Room was comfortable, with large tv, microwave and refigeator. Bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Public Relations Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Hello,

Thank you for choosing the Wisconsin Union Hotel! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the review. We hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards,
The Wisconsin Union Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Convenient to the campus, lovely rooms, beautiful Union, and friendly professional staff. The free parking in this part of town makes this hotel a bargain.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolm076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Public Relations Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Hello,

Thank you for choosing the WIsconsin Union Hotel! We appreciate your positive review of the hotel and we are looking forward to when you come back.

Best Regards,
The Wisconsin Union Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Student Unions on each campus can be great locations, but not such great places to spend time. The restaurants and lobby and layout of the place was great. We had a wedding reception at the hotel, so it couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suegilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Public Relations Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Thank you for choosing the Wisconsin Union Hotel! We are happy that you had a good stay and appreciate the postive feedback! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank You,
Wisconsin Union Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My (now) wife and I are UW-Madison alumni. We stayed here at the new Union South for 4 nights while we were getting married. We had the ceremony and the reception in the Varsity Hall. We were the first wedding in the new building and everything went great! Truly a wonderful time. But staying at the hotel made it even better (and much more convenient)!

We stayed in one of the suites (non-lakeview, room 501) and we loved everything about it. From all the Wisconsin themed pillows to the green initiatives in place, everything was wonderful! This is now my favorite hotel. And whether or not you are a Badger fan, it will be one of yours!

All the staff were very friendly and helpful the whole weekend and they even put wedding favors in all our guest's rooms for us. (We had about 35 rooms with guests.) The suite was roomy and had every amenity you could need. Including a really cool coffee maker that just makes a single cup instantly. Underground parking and wifi is included. The wifi is really good and is throughout the building. There are tons of restaurants and a bar (The Sett) on the first floor, plus tons of patio space with the famous Union chairs. There's a movie theater on the 2nd floor and there's bowling and a climbing wall in the lower level. I didn't even have time to use the exercise facility on the 5th floor (free weights and cardio equipment). The best part of this hotel though is it's location. You cannot beat it: right on campus next to Engineering and Camp Randall! Right in all the student action!

I wish I could live here! But I'll have to settle for whenever we visit Madison. And don't forget to mention your Union membership to get a 10% discounted rate!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WisBadgerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, General Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Greetings,

Thank you for choosing the Wisconsin Union Hotel and we appreciate your awesome feedback. We look forward to serving you in the near future.

Thank you,
Jessica Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

If you are visiting UW-Madison and want a place in the heart of the campus, consider staying at the new Union South. Rooms there are spacious and well-appointed, with all the amenities of a good business hotel. Just downstairs is all the action of the Union itself, across the street is surprisingly good dining at Steenbock Cafe in the Wisconsin Institute for Discovery Building, and all around is the UW campus.

Ask for a room with a view -- south facing rooms look out over Camp Randall Stadium through spacious windows; larger suites look north but through small windows.

Note that the Union food services don't really open until 8 am, so early risers will need to strike out for breakfast elsewhere in the neighborhood. A good option is Mickey's Dairy Bar, a five minute walk up Monroe Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Camp Randall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sconi_Sunnysider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, General Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Thank you for visiting the Wisconsin Union Hotel. We greatly appreciate your input and hope you enjoyed your stay with us! We have addressed the breakfast options available in Union South and our in-house coffee shop, Prairie Fire, which opens at 7:00 A.M., will begin serving items for breakfast in the next few weeks. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
771 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#17 of 63 in Madison
438 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.4 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#12 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisconsin Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisconsin Union Hotel

Address: 1308 W Dayton St, Madison, WI 53715-1149
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Madison
Price Range: £93 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wisconsin Union Hotel - Madison at Union South offers a warm, inviting oasis of ‘green’ hospitality, welcoming you to one of the nation’s most livable cities with peaceful ambiance, artful decor, and unsurpassed service. This brand new 60 room boutique hotel is sure to please. Set in the heart of a vibrant Madison neighborhood, the new Union South is nestled between the Computer Sciences & Statistics Building and Engineering Hall on the south side of the UW-Madison campus, just across Campus Drive from the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing