We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wisconsin Union Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I was at Wisconsin Union Hotel for a few days. I found it nice and clean, comfortable, with a very convenient location for downtown business. STate Street is just a few minutes walk away, and most of university buildings are nearby.
Staff was very helpful and nice. Room is spacious. Nice coffee machine available for free in the rooms.
Restaurants available in the same building.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppmm_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel is located on the 4th and 5th floors of the Union south on the Wisconsin Badger campus just outside of camp Randall. We stayed here while going to watch the badger hockey team play at the kohl center. We walked to the kohl center which is on the same street (dayton) and it took about 20 minutes. Not bad at all. The hotel was very quiet as all the students were studying for finals week. We will try to get back to this location next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badgerhockey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I used to stay at this hotel for two times, both of them are pleasant experience. The hotel is close to campus and there are also a lot of restaurants around the hotel. The room is spacious and the bed are comfortable. I recommend this for visitor to Madison, WI.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Zhe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I would stay here every time I visit Madison. The staff is wonderful, the location is fantastic. The food options are varied and everything I had was delicious! Easily my favorite place to stay in Madison.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were very lucky to get a room at the Wisconsin Union Hotel after planning a last minute trip for a football game. The lady who booked our room by phone was extremely friendly and helpful. In fact, the entire hotel staff seemed to go out of their way to provide great guest service. The room was very nice with comfortable beds, plenty of seating space, microwave, refrigerator, Keurig coffee machine, and a terrific shower. The price was a little high, but that was to be expected given all of the activity on the campus for the weekend. Finally, being located in the Union, there are a number of food and beverage options. We had one small issue with the bill, but the front desk staff immediately corrected the issue. We would definitely stay at the Union Hotel again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dm_chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel was clean with a great location for Football Games. This is not the Union South that I was familiar with from twenty years ago. They did an excellent job with the hotel, recreational activities and overall presentation. I would stay gain in a moments notice. Great job all around!!

Room Tip: The suite was well worth the additional money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardf267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Not sure why it took almost a year to submit my review, but I feel as if I was there yesterday. It was such a great experience. I couldn't believe a university-run hotel could feel so sophisticated. All the people that worked there were so nice and really cared about our experience. The rooms were clean and well-appointed. One issue is that this hotel gets a LOT of traffic for events, such as weddings, etc. and they could vacuum their halls and elevators at the beginning of the day and at the end of the day, before people go to sleep. Other than that, the hotel was spotless. The location is perfect and the parking is, too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessieMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
748 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
1.1 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisconsin Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisconsin Union Hotel

Address: 1308 W Dayton St, Madison, WI 53715-1149
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Madison
Price Range: £98 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wisconsin Union Hotel - Madison at Union South offers a warm, inviting oasis of ‘green’ hospitality, welcoming you to one of the nation’s most livable cities with peaceful ambiance, artful decor, and unsurpassed service. This brand new 60 room boutique hotel is sure to please. Set in the heart of a vibrant Madison neighborhood, the new Union South is nestled between the Computer Sciences & Statistics Building and Engineering Hall on the south side of the UW-Madison campus, just across Campus Drive from the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing