We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wisconsin Union Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Park, Illinois
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Went to Madison this past weekend for a wedding and stayed here. The room was beautiful with a HUGE extremely comfortable bed, walk in shower with shampoo, conditioner and body wash that actually got me clean and smelled good, a Keurig machine with K-cups, a mini fridge, plenty of towels for the two of us, complementary parking and wifi and a nice view as well! I would definitely recommend this hotel to travelers. My only wish is that there was a pool/sauna in the hotel! Otherwise, perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisygirl7950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear daisygirl7950—

As a recent addition to the Wisconsin Union, we strive to provide excellent accommodations for any occasion! Although we do not have a pool on-site, hotel guests are able to use the University’s recreational facilities, including two pools on campus. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay for the big day as well as some of our eco-friendly amenities. Thank you for your kind words!

On, Wisconsin!
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    43
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
23
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed overnight because I had an interview on campus the next morning. The room I stayed in had two queen beds, a mini fridge, a microwave, iron, keurig, and toiletries. I was also able to park in the nearby parking garage and the parking pass didn't expire until 1pm the next day.

The hotel rooms are located on the 4th and 5th floors of the union and I never heard any noise from anything going on downstairs. The hotel key gives you access to these floors so you won't have any students running around the halls.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xixi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear xixi89—

Thank you for choosing the Wisconsin Union Hotel and thank you for taking the time to review. We always like to hear that guests of the University found our accommodations comfortable and enjoyed their stay since they are such a large percentage of our clientele. It’s always nice to host guests that are looking to make Madison their home.

On, Wisconsin!
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I've been coming to the U of Wisconsin Madison for years and didn't know about this hotel, perhaps because it is only 2 or 3 years old. When a university department suggested booking me in here, and said it was part of a student center, I was rather doubtful. I like reasonable comfort, quiet and excellent wifi access. It turned out to be a great choice, especially at the rate ($70) the hotel charges for bookings made through university departments. It's very modern with all reasonable room books (including a great coffee maker); as quiet as you could ever want (at least on the 5th floor where I was), the wifi works perfectly and without extra charge not only in the hotel but throughout the campus. And, it actually is a great boon to be situated above a student center with its coffee shops, bar, reading areas, and across the road from the excellent Aldo coffee shop and Steenbocks very good restaurant in the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery building. Next time on campus I'll be at the Wisc Union Hotel for sure.

Room Tip: My high floor, away from elevator, worked perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed for two nights in this hotel on a business trip visiting the university. While the location of this hotel is within the campus, it is actually not great since it is not close to shops or restaurants. The hotel is within a student center, and as such lacks the comfort of a hotel lobby. Everything is closed in the evening and the large cafeteria style dining hall at the ground floor feels uncomfortable for a traveler. The room is fairly standard but seems a lot of corners have been cut. Half if the shower stall is open (by design) but it is not well thought out since the shower water floods the bathroom. The water in the sink does not drain out for a few minutes after the toilet is flushed. The service at the front desk is poor - they kept on trying to bill me although the room was paid for by my hosts. I felt I was staying in a dorm.

My advice is - if you are on a business trip, insist in staying in one if the downtown hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bulka56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I was at Wisconsin Union Hotel for a few days. I found it nice and clean, comfortable, with a very convenient location for downtown business. STate Street is just a few minutes walk away, and most of university buildings are nearby.
Staff was very helpful and nice. Room is spacious. Nice coffee machine available for free in the rooms.
Restaurants available in the same building.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppmm_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel is located on the 4th and 5th floors of the Union south on the Wisconsin Badger campus just outside of camp Randall. We stayed here while going to watch the badger hockey team play at the kohl center. We walked to the kohl center which is on the same street (dayton) and it took about 20 minutes. Not bad at all. The hotel was very quiet as all the students were studying for finals week. We will try to get back to this location next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badgerhockey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I used to stay at this hotel for two times, both of them are pleasant experience. The hotel is close to campus and there are also a lot of restaurants around the hotel. The room is spacious and the bed are comfortable. I recommend this for visitor to Madison, WI.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
658 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#10 of 63 in Madison
636 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisconsin Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisconsin Union Hotel

Property: Wisconsin Union Hotel
Address: 1308 W Dayton St, Madison, WI 53715-1149
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wisconsin Union Hotel - Madison at Union South offers a warm, inviting oasis of ‘green’ hospitality, welcoming you to one of the nation’s most livable cities with peaceful ambiance, artful decor, and unsurpassed service. This brand new 60 room boutique hotel is sure to please. Set in the heart of a vibrant Madison neighborhood, the new Union South is nestled between the Computer Sciences & Statistics Building and Engineering Hall on the south side of the UW-Madison campus, just across Campus Drive from the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing