We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! We'll definately be back.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wisconsin Union Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location! We'll definately be back.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We weren't sure where to stay when visiting last summer. We'll never have to wonder again. This is the place every time!

Careful if SOAR is going on, because it will be swamped, especially the parking area. We got in early the first day and never had to move our car again during the days. The evenings and early mornings have ample parking in the garage.

Some of the amenities shut down early, so plan on being out and about in the evenings.

The front desk staff was even kind enough to help us find our Union Memberships that we hadn't used in 10 years!

Because of the great experience last year, we're coming back for another stay. It's absolutely worth it!

Room Tip: We have little kids, so a suite is necessary when they need to go to bed at 8pm and we want to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowNavyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    44
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
23
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great room, comfortable bed, super location at Union South. The construction for the new facilities took some time, but WOW was it worth it. If you're an alumnus or alumna, do yourself a favor and stay at Union South next time you're in Madison. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Camp Randall! The view is tremendous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear David—

It’s always great to hear that our guests find our rooms so comfortable! As a big addition to the University just three years ago, it’s always a pleasure knowing the hotel is full of fellow Badgers! Thank you for the review; we hope to see you again soon!

On, Wisconsin!
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Clean, spacious room. Spectacular quality of sleep. Silent, in spite of University Avenue nearby, perfect access to the University of Wisconsin. Staff was courteous and thoughtful. Free Wi-Fi internet worked well in my third floor room. Thumbs up for Union South Hotel!

Room Tip: My third floor room had a garden in front of the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vini00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear vini00—

I am pleased to hear you found our accommodations comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful. We appreciate the thumbs-up!

On, Wisconsin!
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton Grove, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our second stay at Union South was last weekend for Graduation Weekend. Our first stay was 2 years ago, and we had a very pleasant stay in the (then) new Union South Hotel. This time upon arrival there were some problems with the room, which we brought to the hotel's attention. The problems were immediately attended to, professionally and cheerfully. On Sunday morning we met with the Hotel Manager to discuss our stay. We were very impressed with his professionalism and his vision for hospitality excellence at the Union South Hotel.

This is a delightful boutique hotel, with a great location and many unexpected amenities. The manager is aware that he is in charge of a hospitality gem, and is committed to maintaining and improving the facility and guests' experiences. I commend him and the Union South Hotel staff, and recommend a visit to the Union South Hotel whenever you need accommodations near the University of Wisconsin or in downtown Madison, Wisconsin.

Room Tip: Boutique Hotel on 2 floors, about 60 rooms total. Each one will be as good as the next. Did not he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahofeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear ahofeld—

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m sorry you experienced problems with your stay, however, as Front-Desk Manager, I am pleased to hear my staff was able to turn your experience into a pleasant and memorable one! Thanks again for your recommendation, and we look forward to seeing you again.

On, Wisconsin!
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Being that I arrived in Madison for a research project to help educative people further on the aspects of TBI & brain damage like I have imposed I continuously run into side roads. The desk help I received from the Wisconsin Union Hotel front desk was first rate on a grand scale. Not only was I given the written instructions on where I actually belonged, but they where there on foot as I had my problems in the parking garage. This could have been done done per audio only, but no they where personal & put in the extra mileage to help me out in all times of need.

To simply say thank you & put forward the recommendation to others is a forthcoming downfall on my part, for the Wisconsin Union Hotel went above and beyond.

Doug Dvorak

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Douglas—

Thank you so much for acknowledging our Front-Desk staff here at the Union! As students and facility of the University, we feel a personal connection with UW-Madison and are thrilled to share that passion with our guests. Whether it is helping you navigate our large campus or handing out recommendations, we do our best to make every guest feel at home here at UW. Thanks again for choosing the Wisconsin Union Hotel and thank you for taking the time to review.

On, Wisconsin!
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Park, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Went to Madison this past weekend for a wedding and stayed here. The room was beautiful with a HUGE extremely comfortable bed, walk in shower with shampoo, conditioner and body wash that actually got me clean and smelled good, a Keurig machine with K-cups, a mini fridge, plenty of towels for the two of us, complementary parking and wifi and a nice view as well! I would definitely recommend this hotel to travelers. My only wish is that there was a pool/sauna in the hotel! Otherwise, perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisygirl7950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear daisygirl7950—

As a recent addition to the Wisconsin Union, we strive to provide excellent accommodations for any occasion! Although we do not have a pool on-site, hotel guests are able to use the University’s recreational facilities, including two pools on campus. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay for the big day as well as some of our eco-friendly amenities. Thank you for your kind words!

On, Wisconsin!
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed overnight because I had an interview on campus the next morning. The room I stayed in had two queen beds, a mini fridge, a microwave, iron, keurig, and toiletries. I was also able to park in the nearby parking garage and the parking pass didn't expire until 1pm the next day.

The hotel rooms are located on the 4th and 5th floors of the union and I never heard any noise from anything going on downstairs. The hotel key gives you access to these floors so you won't have any students running around the halls.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xixi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear xixi89—

Thank you for choosing the Wisconsin Union Hotel and thank you for taking the time to review. We always like to hear that guests of the University found our accommodations comfortable and enjoyed their stay since they are such a large percentage of our clientele. It’s always nice to host guests that are looking to make Madison their home.

On, Wisconsin!
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
698 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#11 of 63 in Madison
649 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
1.0 mi away
Best Western PLUS InnTowner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisconsin Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisconsin Union Hotel

Property: Wisconsin Union Hotel
Address: 1308 W Dayton St, Madison, WI 53715-1149
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wisconsin Union Hotel - Madison at Union South offers a warm, inviting oasis of ‘green’ hospitality, welcoming you to one of the nation’s most livable cities with peaceful ambiance, artful decor, and unsurpassed service. This brand new 60 room boutique hotel is sure to please. Set in the heart of a vibrant Madison neighborhood, the new Union South is nestled between the Computer Sciences & Statistics Building and Engineering Hall on the south side of the UW-Madison campus, just across Campus Drive from the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing