We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Aim to Please”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“They Aim to Please”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Very clean rooms. Attentive staff. Everything we needed for our Parent's Weekend stay for the U of W. Location relative to the University is very good. Really close to the Alliant Energy Center, so if you have an event there, consider the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riley73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    77
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
71
65
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is a fairly typical holiday inn: clean, pleasant, good breakfast (included sausage patties and biscuits and gravy), good location. The room did have a strong smell and a wet spot on the carpet, must be from recent cleaning. A couple of free drinks are offered during happy hour. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Brought the family to Madison for the weekend and really enjoyed our stay here. Inn was close to Capital and near a great Farmer's Market. Hotel is a short walk from the Alliant Energy Center and the event we attended.
We also enjoyed using the bike trail adjacent to the inn. Staff was incredibly helpful with directions and knowledge of the city.
Breakfast was super, internet was free and worked great.
Looking forward to our next visit. Highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Clean average sized room - had refrigerator and microwave. Just enough parking.. Easy access to downtown and lake if you have car. Air conditioner never did cool room very well on hot July days

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we were traveling with our Maltese and it proclaimed to be pet friendly. The hotel basics are fine and I have no complaints with that. Unfortunately, we woke up to a bed full of fleas and our little doggie covered in them so the hotel was flea-friendly, too. They did not originate on my dog - he is a non-toxic, home-cooked fed dog and at 4 years old has not experienced fleas until this episode. The fleas seemed to be contained to one bed, but I know this is wishful thinking on my part. Luckily we had peppermint Dr. Bonner's to bathe him with to kill the fleas and after drying him, removed him from the room. We did bring some fleas back with us and I am now trying to go through de-fleaing their life cycle by laundering everything and vacuuming. The whole episode is quite distressing and I am sure we left some fleas at our travel destination, too.

Room Tip: This was room 110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinkaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear KatrinkaM,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Madison.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for one night and was pleased with the accommodation, but more than that, I was very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Upon check-in the staff relocated me to a room that was not directly behind the elevator so that I would be assured of a quiet night. And that's what I got! The room was clean, spacious, and quiet. I was going to an evening show on the other side of town and the desk clerk offered several good places to grab a bite to eat that were close to the theater.


In the morning, I found breakfast to be the typical Holiday Inn North fare, and the cinnamon rolls are always my favorite - they were indeed hot and delicious here. Some of my travels last summer had taken me to a few of these hotels out west and I really liked the regional food offerings there such as biscuits and gravy and Spanish scrambled eggs.

All in all, another good Holiday In Express experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjonairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Nice, clean but modest accommodations. Once you see the Sheraton right across, it's modesty comes across starkly. However, you will have all you need to make your stay comfortable. The theme is played out across all aspects - lobby (small, but functional); rooms (neat, comfortable, nothing jazzy); breakfast (certainly fills your stomach with its decent spread, but could get boring due to lack of choice after a couple of days); compact but very clean pool; just about ample parking. The staff is pleasant.
I stayed here on a business trip for over a couple of weeks. Only issue I faced was that they did not have a laundry room, so had to go to a public laundromat!
Location is ok if you have a car. No restaurants nearby - though downtown is about a couple of miles away across the lake.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thought_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#15 of 63 in Madison
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Madison Hotel
Sheraton Madison Hotel
#24 of 63 in Madison
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Address: 722 John Nolen Dr, Madison, WI 53713-1422 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Madison)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete Renovation in 2014! Comfort Inn a Madison, Wisconsin hotel near Alliant Energy Center Enjoy your Madison, WI vacation at the Comfort Inn(R), located in the downtown area within walking distance to the Alliant Energy Center and Veteran's Coliseum. Shopping, dining and sightseeing await you during your stay at the Comfort Inn, and you'll be just minutes away from some of the most popular Madison destinations such as: •Wisconsin Children's Museum •Wisconsin Veteran's Museum •Capital City Bike Trail We are also easily accessible from Highway 12/18, near the University of Wisconsin and the Monona Terrace Convention Center, Camp Randall and the Kohl Center. Your guest room at the Comfort Inn is complete with a flat-screen television, microwave, hair dryer, MP3 radio, iron and ironing board. Additional amenities include: •Free wireless high-speed internet •Free daily newspaper •Free hot breakfast and coffee Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Madison, WI the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Keep up with your workout regimen at our fitness center, and enjoy our indoor heated pool. Parking is free and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses. This is a pet-friendly hotel, fees apply. Book your stay the Comfort Inn and enjoy a worry-free and fun-filled visit to Madison. Our friendly and professional staff will ensure your trip is memorable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Madison Hotel Madison
Holiday Inn Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing