We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel for the Bhaktifest in Madison. It was right across the street. The people at the front desk were very friendly and they even let us check out at 2pm the last day. They suggested where to eat dinner. Breakfast was great with omelets, waffles, sausage, cereal, etc. It was quiet even though my room was near the lobby. The room did smell a little musty but I brought along some spray and that fixed it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobLoskill, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to complete a review of our inn.

Clearly you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! We had many guests celebrating the events at the Fest as we are within walking distance of the Alliant.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Very comfortable hotel in a convenient location. Good size room, comfortable beds. Fairly quiet location, even though it is close to hwy 12. No fridge or microwave in room. $95 room charge if you have AAA, $20 pet fee. Has a good business center. Breakfast is included in room rate. This hotel does not have a restaurant, but provides information for a delivery service for several local restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobLoskill, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for your response and kind words on your recent stay to our inn.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Vincent and the other gal at the front desk were very helpful! They recommended a place within walking distance for drinks and food. Vincent even went out of his way to 'chase' us down when we were headed in the wrong direction! Perfect location to stay if going to the Alliant Energy Center for an event - right across the street. We were in town for the Color Run and didn't get any sour looks from the staff after the run when we came back to get cleaned up! Tell Vincent HI! from the Green Haired Ladies!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobLoskill, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our inn.

I certainly will say "hi" to Vincent from the "Green Haired Ladies" and pass on your words of praise. We take great pride in going the extra mile to service our guests and I'm happy to hear we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to your next visit to Madison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stopped here while on our way to Minneapolis for a convention. Vincent at the front desk was so friendly and helpful. He made checking in a pleasure. The room he gave us was exactly what we needed considering it was his last room. The breakfast filled our tummies for the journey ahead of us. Thanks for the wonderful friendly service.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobLoskill, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

We appreciate your completing a review of our inn.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our front desk staff and the awesome customer service you received. Your comments are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Vincent and Rebecca should be in the Front Desk Hall of Fame. Outgoing and helpful are just two of their many attributes. Rooms were top notch. Restaurant suggestion was helpful. Location near the "beltway" made in/out easy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobLoskill, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding the inn.

Your kind words regarding our desk staff are greatly appreciated as they take a great deal of pride in providing top notch service! We were also pleased to see that you enjoyed the accommodations of our sleeping rooms.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Just a stop over while passing through the area
Great location with easy access to the beltline and the capital - Friendly & helpful staff.
Many restaurant close by.
Hotel rooms are a little dated and in need of an upgrade. [Well the one I stayed in]
Room rate was ok - breakfast ok.

Happy hour was a nice plus!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honest_reviews032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobLoskill, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

[ Caveat: We were in Madison for medical care and asked for the medical rate. It was $89. I don't know if the room we were given was based upon that or not. ]

This Holiday Inn is located right off major highways in Madison and directly across from the Alliant Energy Center (expo center). I've stayed there many times in the past, but not since an unfortunate incident about 6-7 years ago. There is no view to speak of (railroad tracks, neighboring Sheraton Hotel, etc.), but the parking lot and entry area are sufficiently clean and orderly. There is a pool area on one side of the first floor and an exercise area on the other. We didn't use either, but they seemed clean and well maintained.

The room was sufficient for our needs, but does need some future maintenance - there was wallpaper curling off the wall near the bed and the bathroom door was really ragged, with much chipped wood, on the bottom.

One of the things I appreciated was the fact that there was a small table and two chairs (without arms), separate from the desk area. We ordered food and it was nice to have a comfortable place to dine. WiFi internet access is free. The beds were very comfortable.

The breakfast bar was extremely well maintained and had a variety of items: scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausage, cinnamon rolls, make-your-own pancakes, as well as cold cereal, fruit, yogurt, bread for toasting, etc. The coffee was delicious! The gentleman working in the breakfast area was great and kept his good disposition when he was berated by a guest unfairly.

The front desk staff was okay, but certainly could have been friendlier and more effusive. They offer cookies in the evening and (I think) wine in the evening during the week (we were there on Sunday).

I would have given it a 3.5, if that was available. I would probably stay here again, but only if the price was right.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want: there are rooms closer to the pool and those closer to doors, the exercise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lu0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobLoskill, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your comments.

We have made the minor repairs to the room that you listed. We're glad to see you enjoyed our new Serta pillow-top mattresses, our outstanding breakfast, and many of our other amenities.

We hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
2 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#14 of 63 in Madison
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
1.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Madison Hotel
Sheraton Madison Hotel
#26 of 63 in Madison
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown

Address: 722 John Nolen Dr, Madison, WI 53713-1422 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Madison)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Madison
Price Range: £64 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete Renovation in 2014! Comfort Inn a Madison, Wisconsin hotel near Alliant Energy Center Enjoy your Madison, WI vacation at the Comfort Inn(R), located in the downtown area within walking distance to the Alliant Energy Center and Veteran's Coliseum. Shopping, dining and sightseeing await you during your stay at the Comfort Inn, and you'll be just minutes away from some of the most popular Madison destinations such as: •Wisconsin Children's Museum •Wisconsin Veteran's Museum •Capital City Bike Trail We are also easily accessible from Highway 12/18, near the University of Wisconsin and the Monona Terrace Convention Center, Camp Randall and the Kohl Center. Your guest room at the Comfort Inn is complete with a flat-screen television, microwave, hair dryer, MP3 radio, iron and ironing board. Additional amenities include: •Free wireless high-speed internet •Free daily newspaper •Free hot breakfast and coffee Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Madison, WI the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Keep up with your workout regimen at our fitness center, and enjoy our indoor heated pool. Parking is free and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses. This is a pet-friendly hotel, fees apply. Book your stay the Comfort Inn and enjoy a worry-free and fun-filled visit to Madison. Our friendly and professional staff will ensure your trip is memorable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Madison Hotel Madison
Holiday Inn Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing