We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Regina - Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is an excellent Holiday Inn Express.

The front desk staff were very friendly and efficient.

The room was large and clean and very quiet. The beds were large (queen) and comfortable. The bathroom was large with good lighting and lots of counter space.

There was a manager’s reception on Monday evening with free drinks and snacks.

Breakfast was really good – all the usual HIE choices. The room had lots of tables.

We didn’t use the pool nor workout room.

Wifi worked properly and was fast enough.

Checkout was express – so very efficient.

All in all we thought this was a great stay. Unfortunately it is changing to a Comfort Inn this fall.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    74
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
71
63
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Nicely remodeled rooms in convenient location. Desk staff was extremely helpful and courteous. When I checked out at noon he asked me if we had had the breakfast. I said no we had slept through it. He then offered to go get me something.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler7316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We we traveling and unsure how far we would go that day so did not have a reservation. We make it a habit to try and stay at Holiday Inn Express sites and found this one. There were motorcycles filling the lot in the hotel next to this and more than half of the spaces at this hotel also. Based on this observation I was sure when I went in that they would inform me there was no occupancy. However, the very pleasant lady at the desk did have a room with a king available. Feeling a little apprehensive about all the bikes (though they were beautiful ones) I asked and was informed it was a nation wide convention for Honda motorcycle owners. There were several event members in the general purpose room and seemed to be enjoying themselves without being loud. When I checked in the desk person informed me it was the last 5 mins. of their reception time, she immediately gave me beverage tickets and told me to get our beverages and snacks and go ahead and take them to the room then come back and finish checking in. After doing so, I went to our truck where my husband was unloading and informed him we had the room as well as snacks and adult beverages. It made the end of a long day much more enjoyable. there were enough snacks with the chicken strips, chips etc so that we did not have to leave for a late meal after driving al day.The room was great, the beds very comfortable, the place was quiet, the usual H.I. breakfast. We will stay there again even though it seems that the Holiday Inn Expresses are about 25% more expensive in WI then other states.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonLDRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

All the rooms were full in Madison and we found this place. The staff were really nice, rooms were clean and it was a quick drive to downtown. We also rented bikes and rode to town. Elevator was a bit slow and bumpy but being only four floors I often took the stairs.

Room Tip: Not getting a room by the clackety elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We last visited the Holiday Inn Express Madison in 2009 and we were not impressed. Five years later, this property is a much better choice and we highly recommend it. The hotel underwent a top to bottom renovation, with new wall coverings, carpet and furnishings. It looks great. We also felt the staff was better than most; very engaging and customer-focused. Beds are comfortable with a full choice of pillows and housekeeping was excellent. A couple of computers in the lobby serve as the business center and unlike some of the slow, plodding units we've encountered elsewhere, these computers were responsive and a pleasure to use. Wi-Fi was flawless in the room, too. Overall, we give this hotel a very good rating and we wouldn't quibble with those who rate it excellent, since it far more than adequately delivers on the brand promise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Standby4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Nice stop on drive from Chicago to Minneapolis. Not close to any food places, but was a comfortable room with a great breakfast in the morning and nice pool to relax in the evening. Hotel staff was helpful. Safe location and easy to find. We would go back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We called and asked specifically if the they had a hot tub, get all checked in and saw that it wasn't working, they should have told us that it wasn't working before we came. They gave us money off but it wasn't the point as needed the tub for back problems. Staff was helpful and polite. Beds were comfortable and it was quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucylulu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Lucylulu2,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased to know that you found our staff helpful and polite, beds comfortable and quiet room. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience our hot tub may have caused you. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#13 of 63 in Madison
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 63 in Madison
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Madison Hotel
Sheraton Madison Hotel
#24 of 63 in Madison
837 reviews
6.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Address: 722 John Nolen Dr, Madison, WI 53713-1422 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Madison)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete Renovation in 2014! Comfort Inn a Madison, Wisconsin hotel near Alliant Energy Center Enjoy your Madison, WI vacation at the Comfort Inn(R), located in the downtown area within walking distance to the Alliant Energy Center and Veteran's Coliseum. Shopping, dining and sightseeing await you during your stay at the Comfort Inn, and you'll be just minutes away from some of the most popular Madison destinations such as: •Wisconsin Children's Museum •Wisconsin Veteran's Museum •Capital City Bike Trail We are also easily accessible from Highway 12/18, near the University of Wisconsin and the Monona Terrace Convention Center, Camp Randall and the Kohl Center. Your guest room at the Comfort Inn is complete with a flat-screen television, microwave, hair dryer, MP3 radio, iron and ironing board. Additional amenities include: •Free wireless high-speed internet •Free daily newspaper •Free hot breakfast and coffee Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Madison, WI the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Keep up with your workout regimen at our fitness center, and enjoy our indoor heated pool. Parking is free and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses. This is a pet-friendly hotel, fees apply. Book your stay the Comfort Inn and enjoy a worry-free and fun-filled visit to Madison. Our friendly and professional staff will ensure your trip is memorable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Madison Hotel Madison
Holiday Inn Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing