We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the patio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Madison East
Ranked #41 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Fairly new residence inn and very well kept. our check in person (Scott E.) was especially pleasant and helpful. Aligned our room with our guest, provided excellent info on dining and made us feel very comfortable. Thanks Scott E.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randall a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Madison East
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

It's unfortunate that Marriott does not have any hotels in the Capitol area compared to their competitors. So you have to choose between Madison East like this facility or out in Middleton. I chose here since it was a straight shot on Washington. The area is not the best as you can compare to the other competitors adjacent to the property (Rodeway, Red Roof, Econo Lodge, Motel 6). There are plenty of chain restaurants as there is a nearby mall which attracts very generic businesses. Our room was on the first floor and there were plenty of scrapes on the front door from people probably leaning on the door with their luggage. A simple wipe with a magic eraser can enhance the image quite quickly. The room itself was nice with different tables for eating and working along with double doors to the bedroom. They have an ice machine near the pool/exercise room but no ice bucket in the room. The noise level is quite loud as there were many families staying and you could easily hear noise in the hallways as well as room doors slamming shut. The parking lot can be quite full and access to the hotel from Washington can be tricky if you miss the exact frontage road exit when coming from the Capitol since there is a closer right-in, right-out access only that is closer to the property.

The main positives are the staff. They were all very professional, helpful, and smiling whether it was front desk at check-in and check-out, cleaning staff, restaurant staff, and if you met them in the hallway or at their normal location. Security was good, too, as the side entrance requires a keycard at all times because it's not easily seen by house staff. I would rather check out another property before returning back here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuyler3329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Madison East, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Cuyler3329,
Thank you for your review of the Residence Inn Madison East. I'm glad to hear that our staff was helpful and professional and the security of our hotel made your stay comfortable. Please accept my apologies that the rest of your stay did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to impress our guests, and it is obvious that we came up short during your stay. I can assure you that your concerns have been addressed with my staff. I hope you will reconsider and allow us another opportunity to impress you on your next visit to Madison.

Sincerely,
Krystal K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel was great, the staff was friendly and helpful. Great location, beautiful surroundings and a very nice pool. The rooms were excellent and very spacious. We had a wonderful breakfast at the hotel and the food was great-- eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, and cereal. It does have a small parking lot though but is nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElPaso_TexasArmyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The good news: The room itself was fantastic. Spotless clean, comfortable, pretty, convenient. Full kitchen, living room, etc. Only downside was crummy view from the window, but otherwise fantastic room. Breakfast in the morning was deluxe-- 5 star food quality and selection. Staff friendly and helpful. The bad news: The fitness center. Disappointing. Couldn't control the audio on the elliptical, elliptical not in great shape, room MUCH too hot, no fans or a/c, I couldn't even open window, asked front desk for help with audio controls-- they were clueless. Front desk help should be able to answer basic questions about the fitness equipment in my opinion. There isn't anyone else to ask! If you don't plan to use the fitness room, this is a nice choice. If you want a decent fitness room-- go elsewhere-- there are literally more than 7 hotels within a stone's throw of this location so you aren't giving anything up in terms of location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skip54-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I booked a reservation for my wife who was traveling through the area and needed a place to stop for the night. All seemed ready to go, until I got a phone call from the manager on the afternoon she was to check in. She informed me that the hotel was overbooked, and asked if we minded moving to another nearby hotel that she would arrange. As it was not too far off the expressway, I agreed. I contacted my wife with the new destination. When she arrived at the other property, the reservation had been upgraded to a two bedroom suite (a much more modest room had been booked at the Residence) at no additional cost. All in all, this was a superb way to handle what could have been a bad situation. I applaud this manager for seeing the conflict in advance and taking great care of the customer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank DJ-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was a very nice hotel that was convienently located. The hotel staff was very friendly and the breakfast service was a nice amenity. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were very confortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Residence Inn Madison East is a wonderful facility in every sense of the word...! Very comfortable suite accommodations with a pool & spa, and workout facility. The staff at this facility are exceptionally friendly and helpful, and will do anything they can to make your stay pleasant. The hotel provides breakfast and dinner Monday through Thursday - great...! The hotel is close to the freeway, a major mall, and the airport. I highly recommend this Residence Inn by Marriott to all business and personal travelers.

Room Tip: The staff at this facility are exceptionally friendly and helpful, and will do anything they can to...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#23 of 63 in Madison
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East
0.3 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Madison East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Madison East

Address: 4862 Hayes Rd, Madison, WI 53704-3261
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range: £101 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Madison East 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Madison East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Madison East Hotel Madison
Madison Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing