We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Choice in Downtown Madison”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This property is hands down the best in downtown Madison and I've stayed in most of them. Service is professional and helpful. Housekeeping clean and fresh. Can't help but get a nice view from your room - stunning of Lake Monona (my favorite) or the Capitol. Small indoor pool and fitness room. Excellent location adjacent to Monona Terrace, 1 block from the Capitol, easy walk to many good restaurants (my favorites are the Old Fashioned and Tutto's on King St. but there's many more) and bars (Great Dane is fun) around and just off the Capitol Square. Spring to fall don't miss the Farmer's Market on the Square if you're lucky enough to be here on a Saturday AM. 10 min walk around the square to the State St. Mall side of the Capitol and gateway to the UW Campus. Some UW campus destinations (including Camp Randall Stadium >30 min.) will be a little too far a walk for many, courtesy transportation is provided by the hotel - check with them for availability - otherwise a cab would be manageable if a longer walk isn't in the cards for you. Best UW campus location hotel is the Doubletree, and while nice and more than adequate, there's no comparison and the little extra walk is more than worth it for me even if my only purpose in town is at the UW. I always try to stay here first when coming to Madison and while this is not a world class Hilton, it is the best hotel in downtown Madison and I definitely recommend.
Parking tip: Parking on the street is free from 6pm Saturday until 8 am Monday if your stay falls in that parameter. There's a public parking ramp 1 block away that will save you a few bucks if you won't be going in and out, but it's hard to beat the convinience of parking on site.
.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mke60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2011

Thank you so much for your very kind words about your experiences with the Hilton Madison. Our future guests will most definitely appreciate all of your great insights and advice. We hope that you are able to return soon to the Hilton Madison. Sincerely, David Buss, Social Media Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

Location, view, staff, steak, fireplace cocktails...and great rooms. Every stay at the Hilton Madison is enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkepcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This is my second trip to the Madison Hilton and from the moment I walk in the doors I am greeted with friendly, professional employees. The bell staff is great and very helpful in recommending places to dine, places to enjoy live music and extremely helpful with directions. Each room I have had has been clean and very comfortable. I like the nice handwritten note the housekeeping staff leaves in the room welcoming each guest to the Hilton. All in all a great place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmac124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Stayed two nights at Hilton in downtown madison. The room (upgrade) was roomy with great view of the lake. Service was prompt, breakfast very good. Ambience high. Good facilities and overall nice stay. Recommended. The hotel is, albeit, at the low end of Hilton, only a notch above a Hilton Garden. It is a far better choice than the other Hilton property at the downtown, i.e, the DT on Johnson.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nfos00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We all arrived on a Monday evening and check out was scheduled for Thursday A.M. We had excellent food for our sales meeting luncheons and break out sessions too. On our last night for our rewards dinner their were a few who felt light headed but as the night went on we all felt better. After Igot back to my room I became very ill ( THE FLU BUG)all thru the night and into the NEXT DAY! The chef and staff brought beverages and toast and crackers throughout the day and even made a special chicken brooth soup for me that Thursday evening along with a grilled cheese.. I just thought it would be nice to share all the nice things that they did for me to try and make my stay more tolerable until i got to feeling better to make my drive home a day later than my company! aLONG WITH THE SNOW THIS WAS A MEETING TO REMEMBER!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bailey084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Our room was beautiful and my husband loved our view of the capitol. Staff was friendly and efficient. Only drawback is the extra cost of internet, parking, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pburnsblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Rooms in need of upgrade. Great location. Nice restaurant and bar. Honors lounge breakfast pretty weak

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kttjhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#11 of 63 in Madison
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3421
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range: £79 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectacular views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing