We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Terrific Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Terrific Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Graduation weekend; normally a busy time was just that. The Hotel had our rooms ready and had worked with me in getting the Family together on the same floor.
The Hotel Staff from check-in front desk, valet, bellmen, restaurant staff and maid staff were top rate.
I travel extensively and it doesnt get better than this, especially will full occupancy.
Every question had an answer that worked.
I sought out the General Manager during our stay to tell him that usually people only complain, but this was just pure compliment for everyone associated with the Hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms high up have a great view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTrattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    320
    136
    47
    26
See reviews for
252
251
49
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The location of this Hilton is fantastic: on the lake, within a few minutes to the Capitol, and the fun spots in the heart of Madison. We walked everywhere, and it was fun to explore with out 7 y.o.. Yet, when we were ready to "stay put", the indoor pool provided her with additional 1.5 hrs of entertainment, while mom read pool-side and dad worked out in the adjacent exercise room. The only slightly annoying "minus" - a very noisy a/c unit in the room. Otherwise, great and budget-friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olga_f_1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Our stay at the Hilton Madison was everything we expected, especially from a Hilton. Rooms were clean and bright and the service was friendly. We were upgraded to a corner room, so we had a magnificent view of both Lake Monona and the Capitol, which was stunning at both day and night. We made use of the pool and business center which were perfectly sufficient, and although we never made it to the bar, it looked quite nice. The bellmen were very helpful in answering questions and scheduling shuttles as well.

I also loved that at the front desk was a floor-level blackboard welcoming the hotel's four-legged guests as well as some check-in treats for them.

Room Tip: Corner rooms! Far from elevator & great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwkessle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
We are very pleased to have lived up to all your expectations, and we are glad you were able to take advantage of so many of our amenities. Thank you for your kind words, and we hope you will be able to visit again in the near future! Sincerely, David Buss, Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We stayed here with my 3 and 5 year old kids. The location is excellent and easy to get to. Lots of restaurants and attractions nearby. We went to Great Dane for dinner and Gotham Bagels for breakfast and they were both excellent choices within walking distance. My kids loved the clean uncrowded pool and the hot tub was nice. We usually go to Dells but after staying here I don't see a reason to go back to Dells. All in all a very nice stay. Only regret is not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank learsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Gorgeous hotel...they get pretty busy so I dont always get to stay there when I come to Madison on business. The GM sent up a tray of fruit, nuts, cheeses and Fiji waters. So impressed. The view of Lake Monona was gorgeous. The parking is easy under the property. The restaurant and room service are outstanding. The Hilton bfast will exceed your expectations, too.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DZB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 15 April 2011
We are very pleased that we were able to provide you with such an outstanding stay! It is our goal to impress and "WOW" all of our guests. Thank you for all of your kind words about the Hilton Madison, and we hope you will be able to stay with us again soon!
Sincerely, David Buss, Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This property is hands down the best in downtown Madison and I've stayed in most of them. Service is professional and helpful. Housekeeping clean and fresh. Can't help but get a nice view from your room - stunning of Lake Monona (my favorite) or the Capitol. Small indoor pool and fitness room. Excellent location adjacent to Monona Terrace, 1 block from the Capitol, easy walk to many good restaurants (my favorites are the Old Fashioned and Tutto's on King St. but there's many more) and bars (Great Dane is fun) around and just off the Capitol Square. Spring to fall don't miss the Farmer's Market on the Square if you're lucky enough to be here on a Saturday AM. 10 min walk around the square to the State St. Mall side of the Capitol and gateway to the UW Campus. Some UW campus destinations (including Camp Randall Stadium >30 min.) will be a little too far a walk for many, courtesy transportation is provided by the hotel - check with them for availability - otherwise a cab would be manageable if a longer walk isn't in the cards for you. Best UW campus location hotel is the Doubletree, and while nice and more than adequate, there's no comparison and the little extra walk is more than worth it for me even if my only purpose in town is at the UW. I always try to stay here first when coming to Madison and while this is not a world class Hilton, it is the best hotel in downtown Madison and I definitely recommend.
Parking tip: Parking on the street is free from 6pm Saturday until 8 am Monday if your stay falls in that parameter. There's a public parking ramp 1 block away that will save you a few bucks if you won't be going in and out, but it's hard to beat the convinience of parking on site.
.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mke60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Thank you so much for your very kind words about your experiences with the Hilton Madison. Our future guests will most definitely appreciate all of your great insights and advice. We hope that you are able to return soon to the Hilton Madison. Sincerely, David Buss, Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Location, view, staff, steak, fireplace cocktails...and great rooms. Every stay at the Hilton Madison is enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkepcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Property: Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Address: 9 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3421
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectacular views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing