We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service and near Frank Lloyd Wright” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great service and near Frank Lloyd Wright”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I arrived rather late after a long flight and was warmly welcomed. The room and the service exceeded my expectations as I was attending a meeting in the Monona Terrace.

Go visit the FLW sites nearby at the University of Wisconsin, the conference center, etc.

I lost a bracelet in the hotel and they made great efforts to locate it and return it to me.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    299
    128
    45
    24
See reviews for
228
237
47
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Our room overlooked Monona Lake. We turned our chairs around and watched the snow coming down. The staff was extremely helpful and always with a smile. If you don't mind walking, the location is fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue2louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed at the Hilton in January and the room and view were great. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The fitness room has some great equipment.

Room Tip: I would reccomend a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This hotel is a great hotel in an excellent location. Parking is easy for a downtown hotel, and relatively reasonably priced at $13/night. It seems the view is good, no matter where in the hotel you are. Either you have a great view of the lake and Monona Terrace or you can see the capital building and downtown.

The public areas are very nice and well appointed. I enjoyed the fitness center and pool. The fitness center is well appointed with weight equipment, 3 treadmills, 2 stair steppers and a bike.

In the lobby, there were some decoration boards for an upcoming room renovation. It looks like they will be doing all new bedding, carpet, wall paper and furniture. It looks like it will be very nice.

The hotel is very clean. Housekeeping did a nice job refreshing the rooms during my stay, making sure everything was clean and coffee & towels were refreshed. The furnishings are very comfortable, including the beds and pillows. The toiletries are high quality and smell pleasant.

This is a great option for Madison. Location, views and service cannot be beat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckyBadger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and you found the hotel parking, views, fitness center and pool to your liking. Hope to see you return soon! Safe travels. Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here again, this time for our 10th anniversary. We have been well cared for before, particularly by David Buss at the front desk. While my wife and I were settling in and getting ready for dinner, David sent up a plate of chocolate-covered strawberries and a couple of drink tickets. It really help make the evening, and was extraordinarily thoughtful. He helped out with breakfast as well.

Earlier, he gave restaurant recommendations, with a good knowledge of atmosphere, price range, and cuisine. He pulled up menus on the handy lobby iPad, and gave good directions.

We were given a corner room that overlooked the beautiful lake and a bit of the city, where we could watch the sunset colors. Everything was just right.

Thanks again! We'll be back! We've already recommended the hotel to other friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Congratulations again from all of us at the Hilton Madison! We can't thank you enough for all your wonderful comments and are thrilled we were able to provide a perfect getaway for you and your wife. We can't wait for you to join us again! Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison wis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

This past New Years we needed that special experience for the family. We did a Hilton weekend in downtown Madison. We had a super time with the help of the staff at the Hilton. They pointed us in the right direction. Kids ages 7-15 enjoyed all the activities and attractions. The best part of the stay was the accommodations. Clean with wonderful bedding, centrally located, beautiful views, close to shopping, restaurants, unique shops, toured the capital & children s museum. The property was elegant but warm, very clean, food was over the top, but what sealed the deal for our return will be the staff. They where so professional yet with a sense of humor, they had great suggestions on places to go..weather as a couple or with the kids. We had the best conversations and direction from the free shuttles at the hotel. Make sure you get out on the town and take advantage of the free shuttles. If nothing else it was almost like taking a private tour of downtown Madison. This is the place to stay in Madison weather your there as a couple, on business, or a quick getaway with the kids, you will love the property, staff, and location, oh and don't forget the food!!!

Room Tip: If possible get a lake view... but its not completely necessary...due to the awesome views of the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fundaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you for choosing to spend your New Year's with us and for posting about your experience here! We love the location as well, and it's great you were able to take advantage of our shuttle service. You'll have to join us again soon! Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I've stayed at the Madison Hilton for about 100 nights during 2011. They've become my home away from home. The front desk is highly personable and efficient. Plus the food in the Olive Lounge is great! And it takes staying at lots of other properties to realize just how nice the rooms and. Large, comfortable and well appointed (and the view is spectacular whether facing the lake or the capital). Kudos to Bob, Dave and the rest of the Hilton Monona Terrace team!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Property: Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Address: 9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectaculor views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing