We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance overlooking the lake!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I really like to have a view of the water from my hotel room, and in the Hilton Monona Terrace we had a view of the lake AND an unobstructed view of the capital building. It was fantastic. The rooms were tasteful, elegant, with thick walls and a solid quiet feeling. What a great hotel!

Room Tip: get a view of the lake!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Great view of the capitol on the 9th floor, otherwise very average hotel. The location is nice, walking distance to the Capitol and everything going on around it. I guess that is what you are paying for, the location. Great pillows too!!

Room Tip: The higher floors have great views, lake on one side capitol on the other.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

What a great hotel that is convenient to downtown that has great service. We loved our stay there and found it to be close to great places and a helpful staff that really wanted your stay and experience to be great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Best view and quality hotel in town. they could raise the bar a little and be leaps and bounds ahead of the competition . make sure you get the lake view rooms, nice to see. Easy to get to the city center by foot.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This facility is well managed. The employees are highly trained. The facility is well maintained. The location is central and walking for meetings and dinning is usually short distances. Parking on location makes the use of private transportation very easy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I will start back to February. My husband booked us a room the night of our wedding reception. The reception was off site, but he surprised me with a room at the Hilton for the night. He went to check in around 4pm and for some reason they would not let him check in at that time. So we were rewarded with a free breakfast. After the reception, we drove up to find all guests outside and the fire department driving in behind us. Never did find out what actually happened, but there was talk of a malfunctioned fire alarm…not once but TWICE. They let everyone back in the first time but would not let us check in. Then it happened again and after all was clear, we still were not able to check in. So we left. They refunded us or did not charge us for the room, but I think that was poor service to not offer us something for our trouble. I called the Monday after that and we were sent a free room voucher to be used within 10 months with a bunch of restrictions. We decided to take advantage of that room and stayed last night. The service @ the front desk was great. The two gals were nothing but professional and polite. The main room was fine. What I would expect for Hilton quality. But what was lacking was the bathroom. There was mold in the shower and the shower was falling apart in a few places and the ceiling fan looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in years. See pictures below. We were both surprised as this was a “Hilton” certainly this room did not live up to the name. Feel like we were placed in that room because we didn’t actually pay for it?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here using hilton points. I booked a corner king room with 2 windows during our visit to downtown to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

The room had amazing views of the capitol and the lake. It was very spacious and well maintained. Just like one would expect of a high qualtiy Hilton.

What I will say went overboard is the staff and service. They knew it was our anniversary from a comment we made, and they had champagne sent to the room while we were out -- put on ice, with a nice card wishing us well on our anniversary.

The valet service is a must, since parking is hit and miss in the underground ramp. For $13, plus $4 in and out charge each time, it is well worth it.

We tipped lots since everyone was very helpful. And they were nice -- and sincere about it. Not something you see everyday. But then again, this is Wisconsin, and this is the best hotel in town, bar none.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for the high floor rooms with 2 windows. These are corner rooms and have more space and and de...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gritz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3421
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range: £121 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectacular views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing