We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the Road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Middle of the Road”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Clean room and overall nice but booked for 2 adults and 1 17 year old child and received 2 full vs. 2 queen-sized beds. This made things a bit tight for 2 of us. Watch what is provided prior to booking.

$13/night parking fee is not part of initial fee and is added if parking in their ramp.

Air conditioning cycling on and off can be noisy during the night. Seems to be a common theme for other travelers.

Middle of the road service and experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brucer232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Our Chief Engineer is working through each of the air conditioning units in the hotel to ensure that all are working properly. I hope to have the opportunity have you as our guest during your next visit to Madison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    318
    135
    47
    26
See reviews for
249
248
48
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stay here if you can when traveling to Madison. The hotel is in a great location and it makes for a comfortable and relaxing trip. Quiet, professional, and clean surroundings. Will be there again in August and am staying at the Hilton!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for the great review! I am very happy that you decided to stay with us on your next trip to Madison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I am not saying this hotel is bad but there are many bad features. The air con in my first room was noisy the second room was not much better. The housekeeping do not understand English so asking for decaf coffee became show and tell. The pool could use left chemicals ( a minor flaw which I could ignore if it was the only issue during my stay ). A highlight was the engineer we got to look at our air con who was great and really pulled out the stops to improve our stay ( he changed this from 2 to 3 ) . During my trip I have stayed in cheaper hotels that were nicer and provided breakfast. So to round it up don't come here when it is hot unless they have replaced the rubbish air con and be sure to note most things are extra not a lot comes with the room bar safe coffee and a TV.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GaryF1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for the review. For many of our housekeeping staff English is their second language, despite this we encourage all of our Team Members to have positive interactions with our guests regardless of their own comfort level with the English language. I will be working with our Housekeeping Manager to find ways to improve the way our team communicates with our guests. Our Chief Engineer and his team are diligently working to resolve the air conditioning issues you encountered during your stay, I am confident that if you stay with us again you will not experience further issues with the air conditioning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is connected to the Monona conference center and lake on one side with easy walking access to state and business on the other. You can walk to State street too. Hotel is ideal fro weddings or business events. Rooms are the typical comfort of Hilton, but views better than most. Staff are helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floor on lake side for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EsmeBennion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for the review! One of our best assets is our location, not only are we attached to the Monona Terrace we are also centrally located in downtown Madison. I hope to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This lovely hotel was wonderful. We really felt at home. We were greeted warmly every time we walked through the lobby. We had our dog with us, and the staff greeted our dog too. We had a view of the capitol from our room. Very clean and comfortable. Right downtown, within walking distance of tons of fun stuff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for the great review! Our staff very much enjoys interacting with the pets of our guests. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is the place to stay in Downtown Madison! Great upscale restaurant with great steaks. Fun Lounge Bar where you meet people from around the world. Location overlooking Lake Monona and views of the Capital Building, can't be beat Adjacent to the convention center, if in town for a meeting. Best spot if interested in the upcoming iron man competition!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such an outstanding review! We very much appreciate having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul MN, U.S. Virgin Islands
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Not happy a camper hotel took liberty to assign room without looking at what reservation was for or we were second class citizens Agent tryed to make up for the so call mix up with a drink ticket and a breakfast ticket but that is not quality service I don't believe hotel was sold out and accommodations could have beem make

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Allen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
In addition to filling out the Trip Advisor comment I wanted thank you for taking the time to speak with me about the issue you encountered. As we discussed we occasionally encounter guests that stay over, leaving our room count out of balance. While this is not typical I certainly understand what a disappointment it is when you don’t get the room you reserved. I hope to have you as our guests again on your next trip to Madison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Property: Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Address: 9 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3421
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectacular views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing