We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“room with a view”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

stayed overnight overlooking Lake Monona, it was awesome. Walking distance to everything - Restaurants, the Capitol. We walked to the Farmers Market by the Capitol Saturday. The only negative side, tight parking space and the stairs to the parking lot was smelly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our parking garage can at times get very tight, we do offer valet service for guests that do not want to park their own cars. I hope you make us your desination on your next trip to Madison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    318
    135
    47
    26
See reviews for
249
247
48
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Overall the hotel was nice, I had been there previous for meetings. The service from the staff was good. Unfortunately our stay was negated by AC that was inoperative (on a hot summer night) and elevator(s) that were as very very slow (10 Minutes) in a non busy time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Bo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
I am very sorry to hear that your AC unit was not functioning properly. Since your stay our Engineering team has completed preventative maintenance on each of our AC units. Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful location near the capital. The staff is friendly however the room I was in had a terrible mechanical noise that required me to wear headphones to go to sleep. Other guest had the same issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Based on the feedback we received from our guests our Engineering team has performed detailed preventative maintenance on each of our AC units with the goal of reducing noise. I am confident that should you stay with us again you will not have the same experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Location was the best.. walking distance to the capital,Saturdays farmers market, and state street. My complaint is with the elevators in this hotel. We waited on average 15-20 minutes to get from the parking garage to the hotel lobby. We had a stroller so needed to take the elevator. We actually left our little one with our oldest as an employee took my husband and I to the parking garage through the staircase. Our door to our room was stuck too..hard to open. Definitely need to work on elevator situation!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieMDisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for the review. We recently experienced a problem with one of our elevators that required us taking it out of service for about 36 hours. This situation is not typical, this is the only time that an elevator needed to be taking down for an extended period of time in the last year and a half. Should you stay with us again you will not encounter the same issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is the fifth time I have stayed at this hotel. Each time, it exceeds my expectations. The location is awesome. Three blocks from the state capital building and 300 feet from beautiful lake Monona. Each night of my three night stay, I walked the covered walkway to the roof top patio on top of the convention center. I position myself so I can view the lake to my left and view the capital building to my right. After dark, the view becomes even more spectacular! Highly, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms either face the state capital or they face the lake. Can't lose either way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesereynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for the recommendation! I am glad that we continually exceed your expectations. I hope to have you as our guest on your next trip to Madison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsborg, KS, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The staff and accommodations at this hotel were great! The location of the hotel to the Monona Terrace Conference Center and to the downtown shopping and restaurants was an added bonus. I hope our convention chooses this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for the review! Hopefully your convention chooses us again so we can have you back as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorp, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Hilton is situated right next to beautiful Lake Monona in downtown Madison. One block from the Capitol building. The hotel room was quiet and peaceful for the busy area of town it is located in. The Monona Terrace convention center is available to the Hilton through a skywalk. This is a definite plus, as I was there for a convention and the humidity was very high. The only reason I gave it a very good instead of a excellent was the room smelled slightly musty and the air conditioner didn't want to quite keep up. The room was beautiful with new furniture and flat screen television. Bathroom average with tub/shower. Elevator access in the rush hour of morning was a slight wait, but that is to be expected, I planned ahead.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for the review! The skywalk to Monona Terrace provides our guests easy access to the convention center. I hope we have the opportunity to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Property: Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Address: 9 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3421
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectacular views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing