We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“About what we expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
MN, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“About what we expected.”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and I booked this hotel (randomly) through HotWire for a three night weekend getaway. For the price ($89), we were satisfied.

Likes:
- Proximity to downtown Madison and nearby bike trails. About a 10 miute bike ride in to town.
- Staff had no problem with us storing our bikes in our rooms. THANKS!!!
- Good variety of items on the free morning breakfast buffet.
- In room mini-kitchen
- Hide-a-bed sofa
- Free shuttle service to downtown and airport

Dislikes:
- Decor in the room was rather dated
- Only had a single queen sized bed. Thought this was rather unusual given it was a suite.
- It was a hot weekend and the AC in our room struggled to keep the room cool. We had to keep the shades closed all day and kept our personal fan on at all times.
- Very limited dining options near-by the hotel.

For what we paid compared to other options, this hotel was just fine. But for us, being able to walk to nearby bars, restaraunts and attractions is important. For that reason, we probably will avoid booking randomly through HotWire and instead opt for a specific downtown hotel next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt Wendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    105
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
78
59
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashwaubenon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We were in Madison for a soccer tournament, I have stayed a few of the local hotels and I have to say, best stay I have had in Madison. I will stay there again. Good size rooms. Nice pool area. Breakfast buffet was good, because they were busy, they let the buffet open for an additional 45 minutes, fully stocked for all the soccer players that were hungry.

Nice location, a few miles from downtown and a block away from a nice running/bike trail. Me being a runner it was nice to have a trail right there and not have to be on a treadmill.

Thanks for the great stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gp03214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Guest s were the number one priority. Everyone went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and that they were glad we were there. Very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg2049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My experience might not be typical as I was given an "upgrade" on arrival, a very nice corner room with an almost complete kitchen (all but an oven) and a separate bedroom. The breakfast is decent and a free happy hour with complementary wine and beer is included. The location is OK, but not perfect. It's about 3 miles from downtown Madison where every conceivable parking space is metered, so take quarters. There is nothing in the immediate vicinity of the hotel except for a convention center, so It's reasonably close to an awesome running, walking and cycling trail. The service was terrific - they even loaned me a USB cable I had forgotten.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenGlantz, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear Davy F.
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us! You have provided some wonderful information to other guests which is very helpful. Congratulations on the complimentary "upgrade". We hope that you will return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We had a wonderful stay in a cozy, clean room. Desk staff were great. When I checked into hotel, I had forgotten my entertainment card. The rate was significantly different without it. I was told that if I could fax or send proof of membership after my stay that the manager might refund the difference and she absolutely did, without any question. I sent her an email and she responded within hours with an adjusted receipt attached. This was my second time staying at this hotel and both times we had no complaints. Breakfast was good and the women serving and cleaning up were also gracious. I will stay there again next trip to Madison.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandLHospitality, Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear millwalk,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at Clarion Suites in Madison, WI, and for taking a few minutes to share your experience with us through this forum.

Providing that positive, "We'll be back!" guest experience is critical for us, and I'm glad it shows. We read and interact with TripAdvisor reviews so we can learn ways to further improve the guest experience that we provide, and also to commend our staff for a job well done. So again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your Entertainment Card, and your positive comments about our guest service.

Furthermore, we know you have options when you decide which hotel to stay at, and we appreciate that you chose us. We value your business, and your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Madison.

Sincerely, Erin Ruppenthal, S&L Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Bottom line: If you want spacious accommodations near Madison without paying for extras like parking, internet, and breakfast, you won't go wrong with Clarion Suites.

We booked this room at the last minute through the choice hotels web site. The rate was reasonable for what was a very large room with included breakfast, free wifi, and only a short drive from downtown. Despite being an older building and having a somewhat dated interior, this place is clearly trying to copy the Embassy Suites model (spacious rooms, hot breakfast, manager's reception with wine and beer). The breakfast was not exactly gourmet (e.g., eggs were from a powder mix) but it had enough options that I could find something I wanted to eat. Staff was friendly. The pool and whirlpool were functional.

The best part was that the room was comfortable enough and we got a great night's sleep, which is the most important thing you do at a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wr8507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Great place to stay, the service was excellent. We arrived very late and received a warm welcome from the man at the desk. The next morning the woman in charge of the breakfast room was very pleasant and helpful, she needs a reward for her very good service. The breakfast room itself was very pleasant place, large with lots of light from the windows. The rooms were larger than a usual hotel room in this price range. We were on our way to a funeral and this hotel made our trip the best it could be under the circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luther09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandLHospitality, Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear straaholt,

Thank you so much for your recent stat at Clarion Suites Madison Central, and for taking the time to share your positive review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your guest room, our free, hot breakfast buffet, as well as our convenient location. We take pride in the team we have in place here, and appreciate your comments. We value your business, and hope you will stay with us again soon.

Sincerely, Erin Ruppenthal, S&L Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Madison Hotel
Sheraton Madison Hotel
#23 of 63 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#14 of 63 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center

Property: Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
Address: 2110 Rimrock Road, Madison, WI 53713-1444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay with us at The Clarion Suites at The Alliant Energy Center in Madison, WI! Our hotel is adjacent to The Alliant Energy Center Campus and connected to The Exhibition Hall. We are conveniently located near downtown Madison, The Monona Terrace, The UW Campus, Camp Randall, The Kohl Center, UW Hospitals, Meriter Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital. Our hotel is also 20 minutes from Epic Systems training facility.Our rooms are spacious with one or two Queen Beds, Sitting Areas with Queen Sofa Sleepers and Microwave Wvens and Refrigerators. All guests recievd a Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet and a Complimentary Social Hour (M-Sat. We have an indoor pool/whirlpool, Free WIFI and 32" Flat Screen TV's. Complimentary Shuttle service to/from Dane County Regional Airport is offered from 7am-10pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Central Hotel Madison
Clarion Hotel Madison
Clarion Madison
Madison Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing