We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
Ranked #28 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
133 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stay several times per year for business. The rooms are always clean and the breakfast is usually excellent. Staff is friendly and they have added flat screen TV's. The room decor is a bit dated, but I don't care about that. Rates are usually reasonable - expect when there is a special event at the Alliant Energy Center which is next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joann B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear B W,

Thank you for the feedback on the stay! I am very happy to hear that the staff was friendly and the rooms are clean. We are very happy with the new flat screen TVs as well! We do also have corporate rates available if you are traveling on business and looking to stay within a budget. Please contact me for more information. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your future visits to Madison!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    104
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
77
59
18
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sabana Westpunt, Curacao
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

The room was very, well, roomy. Enjoyed the space as I hate a cramped hotel room. I wasn't excited about the price tag for the room, but having checked around, it is about an average price for a better than average room. The room was very clean and we loved the walk-in shower. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
PiesandCakes,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciated hearing from all of our guests and we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. It is our goal to provide pleasant and clean accomodations at a competetive price to the other hotels of our size in Madison. We also offer additional amenities such as a Free Breakfast Buffet and Social Hour. Our spacious rooms make it much more comfortable for our guests.
Thank you again and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
G. Niesl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We recently stayed at this location to support one of the Ironman triathletes. We had a 1 br suite. The rooms were comfortable, breakfast was good, and the kids loved the pool! It was a pleasant surprise to find out that the special event shuttle to downtown was based out of the Alliant Center parking lot! When he does this race again, we will book here if we can!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tap0629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear tap0629,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us! We are so excited to be located near the Iron Man race and to be able to hosts participants and their fans! We have taken turns watching parts of the race in the past years. It is always an exciting event. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan to return again. We look forward to seeing you next year!

Sincerely,
G. Niesl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed here recently before move in day at UW Madison. Our room was great. 2 dbl beds, sofa sleeper, kitchenette, tv. Very roomy and clean. Some paint wear around doorway in bathroom. There was a happy hour in the evening. Didn't utilize it so I can't review.In the morning we ate at the included breakfast buffet. Good varied offerings. Scrambled eggs, corned beef hash, homemade oatmeal, pastries, toast, bagels, cold cereal, fruit and a waffle station. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Harriett34,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I appreciate hearing from our guests and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will address your comments with our staff as we use them to continuously improve our property. Thank you again and we look forward to your return!
G. Niesl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heber Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Checked in for business trip and shower was broken. No other rooms available and desk clerk in my room offered a discount but could not remember me at check out. Will be last option of staying in Madison again. Shuttle was super.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joann B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Timmy H,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear the shuttle service was helpful to you. However, I am very disappointed to learn of the issue with your shower. I have followed up with the clerk who assisted you that morning, and it seems that we were completely sold out so we unfortunately did not have another room available. It appears this was truly an emergency maintenance issue, which is certainly not the norm for our hotel!

I definitely regret that we were not better able to accommodate you in light of the situation, and I have applied a credit to your bill. I understand the issue was deeply inconvenient, and I hope you might reconsider our hotel in the future. If you are staying in Madison and would like to give us a second chance, please contact me directly at (608) 284-1234 ext. 6406, I will be more than happy to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeoville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

One night stay for business was great, especially Jolene shuttling our group to and from downtown! Happy Hour was nice with veggies and soup, reasonable drink selection. My colleagues enjoyed the breakfast. The common areas and room where clean. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I had a queen suite with a full kitchen - nice sitting area, comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Cathy W
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I appreciate hearing from our guests and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff makes every effort to please our guests and I especially appreciate hearing that a particular agent did a good job. I will share your comments with her and reward her for her efforts.
Thank you again for staying with us! We hope that you will return again in the future.
G. Niesl General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greendale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We recently stayed here overnight on a Saturday in a studio suite. We checked in no problem, right in time for the social hour they have every night except for Sundays. There was beer, wine, soda, chips, pretzels, and dip. They also offer a full breakfast buffet every morning. They had make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, and various breads and muffins. Very good and filling!

The room was very clean and decently sized. It came with a queen bed and a queen bed pullout coach. The only problem I had was that my back couldn't handle how hard the bed was so I had to switch to the pullout couch midway through the night. The pullout was pretty comfortable! The bathroom was also very big too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieCollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Katie Collette,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I appreciate hearing from our guests and I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and the amenities we offer.
I regret that our bedding was not perfect for you. We find that our guests have differing preferences in beds and we want everyone to be comfortable. We recently upgraded our beds with approved bedding in the hope that we could reach that goal.
I would welcome you to contact me so that we can discuss your personal preferences and possibly help make your stay even more comfortable.
I hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Thank you again,
G. Niesl General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Madison Hotel
Sheraton Madison Hotel
#24 of 61 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#15 of 61 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center

Property: Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
Address: 2110 Rimrock Road, Madison, WI 53713-1444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay with us at The Clarion Suites at The Alliant Energy Center in Madison, WI! Our hotel is adjacent to The Alliant Energy Center Campus and connected to The Exhibition Hall. We are conveniently located near downtown Madison, The Monona Terrace, The UW Campus, Camp Randall, The Kohl Center, UW Hospitals, Meriter Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital. Our hotel is also 20 minutes from Epic Systems training facility.Our rooms are spacious with one or two Queen Beds, Sitting Areas with Queen Sofa Sleepers and Microwave Wvens and Refrigerators. All guests recievd a Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet and a Complimentary Social Hour (M-Sat. We have an indoor pool/whirlpool, Free WIFI and 32" Flat Screen TV's. Complimentary Shuttle service to/from Dane County Regional Airport is offered from 7am-10pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Central Hotel Madison
Clarion Hotel Madison
Clarion Madison
Madison Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing