We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty creepy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty creepy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed for one night in October. King room on second floor. Room was smelly and blanket had multiple stains on it. Breakfast area was sticky and poorly stocked. We have stayed at many Choice hotels in the past but this one was by far tge worst.I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    14
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
20
11
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, MO
Level Contributor
339 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The Roadway in is a mixed bag. While I am about to criticize it, I would probably stay here again. I really slept great and my overall stay was good.
First the bad. Until October 2012, Washington Avenue which is the main street near the hotel, is being rebuilt. It can take 20 minutes to cross the street to the mall and restaurants, and traffic during the week is horrendous. Once at the hotel, the parking lot is not flat. The driving area is riddled with potholes, the parking area is steeply sloped. They do appear to be starting to repave the lot. The room doors are flimsy and the sink in the room uses a kitchen counter and places the sink very far back, which makes it hard to brush your teeth or wash your face. There is no elevator, just flimsy stairs that creak and groan. The safe in the room is small and a 14” laptop barely fits. The walls are very thin and anytime your neighbors flush the toilet or take a shower, you hear it loud and clear. There is also highway noise if you get an east facing room. Apparently all hotels in Wisconsin are non-smoking, but the room still smelled of smoke. The clientele is a little sketchy as indicated in a previous review. Two men were smoking outside wearing only towels, I think all their clothes were in the washing machine.
The good. Like I said, I slept great. TV was good, internet was good. Indoor whirlpool was crystal clear, and I never experienced any wild children. The bathroom was old, but clean. AC was great or you can open the window. Room 204 had a fridge and microwave, they both worked well. The breakfast was basic with waffles and toast. The location is good, with easy interstate access and lots of places to eat, but until Washington Ave is finally finished, access can be difficult and take a long time.
I paid $47-49 plus a ridiculous 14.6% tax on my room. If you just want basic accommodations at a reasonable rate, this motel will do.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Staff was friendly. Got a great internet rate. Asked for a quiet room and was put on the second floor, on a wing by ourselves..worked out great. Waffles were good for breakfast. Room was clean. Was exactly what I was expecting.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank higherthanme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and quiet, the beds and pillows were so comfortable, staff was very nice and friendly and the continental breakfast included fresh Belgian waffles. Loved the location across from the mall and great places to eat out. It is not a five star hotel but neither is the price! Defiantly a great value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We picked this motel for its price. It is a great place to stay. We had a big king size bed that was so comfortable. We could turn on our air condition on 3/22/12 in winter since it was in the 80's. We had an executive room. It came with a refr and microwave oven. We also had a coffee maker in our room. We got a good breakfast in the morning. I wish they had eggs.
The only thing I think they should fix is the back door near the parking lot was broken. Free parking. The staff was helpful and easy to locate in the hotel. They cleaned up right away with spray after someone eats at the breakfast table. They have laundary machines, popcorn for $1 in the snack machines, ice and pop machines. They have a nice hot tub and exercise place too. They also sell ice cream and pizza in a cooler near the office for the kids which is very nice and smart idea.
We are happy we came. :) :) We would come again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathyloveshotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawano
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We chose a nicer room with wood interior and paid more. When a kleenex was pulled out, the dispenser came with it. The bathroom light was burned out, but they replaced that. They never replaced the light in a wood themed lamp. The maid did our room the second day without making the bed! I informed management so they could train her. I also mentioned our bar of soap was broken with a jagged edge when opened and needed replacement. In two days, that was never replaced. We stayed during low 80's record heat. The air conditioner worked if you left it on for hours. We stay in many Choice Hotels and the breakfast quality was below average. I was able to read e-mail on the guest computer but it was the slowest computer I have ever used.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudgeJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Read prior reviews and still went for this low-cost option, expecting $42 would get us in from the cold for the night, and then happy to leave the next morning. But to our delight, we found great accommodations and a friendly staff! Perhaps we're the exception, but we'd stay here again without hesitation.

Upon entering, we were met with a modernized and clean lobby, sitting area with big screen TV (and cheering Packers fans watching a game), and breakfast area.

The staff was very friendly and attentive.

Our room was ample, clean (freshly painted) and comfortable.

And the breakfast was as good as it gets for motels at twice the price - fresh fruit, juice, cereals, make-your-own waffles, hard-boiled eggs, and biscuits & gravy(?? thought this a bit odd, as more used to seeing this in the South.)

We'd do it again!

Room Tip: Negotiated for 10% AAA discount and then room upgrade on first floor at no extra charge (was priced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Madison
Red Roof Inn Madison
#56 of 63 in Madison
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#47 of 63 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Madison East
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Madison East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast
Address: 4845 Hayes Rd, Madison, WI 53704-3260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing