We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hate to say it.. but terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Grand Hotel
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hate to say it.. but terrible!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I like to give anyone and anywhere the benefit of the doubt! When I checked in the staff was very nice and pleasant, so they are just fine, but the hotel is very dated and the most frustrating part is the internet connection, I would have connection for about 5 min then lose it and get it back. When trying to work, thats brutal. Also I called front desk to see if there was an internet connection issue and nobody picked up the front desk phone after 3 attemps, maybe they were busy but still there needs to be some sort of back up. Also there is nothing around here! Yes there is a casino, golf course and one restaurant but other than that good luck. I am sure the connection issue is not the hotels fault, its most likely their location. Overall the hotel is just ok, but for the business traveller, stay away!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beefpatty7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    51
    20
    23
    21
See reviews for
75
38
14
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Very nice hotel. I travel for a living and I am in and out of hotels weekly, six to eight months out of the year, so when I find something unique I like to mention it on here. The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. I like that they have "real" coffee mugs in the room and in the breakfast room. They have nice breakfast spread which includes blueberries and raspberries. Not many hotels have berries, this was a big plus for me. The rooms are spacious and the bathtubs are nice sized. Indoor swimming and hot tub too. It is located near a golf course, I don't play golf but for those of you who do this may be nice. It is just a 10-15 minute drive into Madison. Hope this helps

Room Tip: If you are looking for hotels online, if you click the picture of the room and the picture shows the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights, by the time we got there it was 1AM, and the place was packed, we were told there were no King room left so they gave us the Jaccuzi Room with a King for the same rate. Room was Big and very quiet. Service was great, breakfast was good. I would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solprovider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed for two nights this week. On the second day of our stay, the entire third floor smelled like a rancid, decaying animal. It wasn't until the following morning that I figured our where the smell was coming from. Millpond Rd is across from the Dane County Landfill.

While the service was satisfactory, they do try to nickel and dime you by hiding some charges on your bill. They charge you $1 per day for the use of the safe that they cleverly hide in the bottom of the closet. The charge on your bill that is for "S & W" is the charge for the safe. The first desk clerk didn't even know what is what for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pretzel8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madison hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights just as a little get away. 24 hour pool and hot tub was a very big plus for us! The room was very clean. Comfortable bed, good sized room and nice furniture. Shower had great pressure! Great breakfast! Price of the stay was very reasonable. Overall it was a great experience and would recommend this hotel!! A++

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank needgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, OH
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed here with my daughter on our way to and from Minnesota. The hotel could use a cosmetic update, but other than that it was great. We checked in late on our trip home and the front desk made us a pizza for dinner ($10) - even brought it to our room with plates and plasticware.

Room Tip: We stayed on different floors each time. It seemed like on the higher up floor you could hear the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhDBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I wanted to plan a little getaway, in the Madison area. Like other people, I aslo read reviews. I was not firmiliar with this hotel but made my reservation based on the area and reviews. I was pleased when pulling in to the parking lot with the over all look. I was not prepared to hear the front desk clerk say she did NOT have my reservations on file, after driving an hour and seeing there was an obvious sporting event going on and the place was packed. I was alittle nervous but thanks to Stephanie (front desk clerk) she found my paper work from my online booking, which had been entered in for the wrong month stay. Stephanie was very professional in rectifying this problem. Luckily, there was ONE last room available. This hotel has all amenities you could want, nice clean rooms and friendly staff. I also appreciated Aaron (manager) for following up with me by phone. Nice hotel. I look forward to a future stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
6.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#25 of 63 in Madison
521 reviews
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
6.2 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel

Property: Magnuson Grand Hotel
Address: 3510 Millpond Road, Madison, WI 53718-6810 (Formerly Grand Hotel Madison)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management and new renovations. A complimentary hot breakfast is served early each morning. In addition to indoor pool and hot tub, Magnuson Grand Hotel Madison provides 24-hour fitness room and business center with complimentary fax and copy service. Magnuson Grand Hotel Madison also features conference rooms and party rooms. Flat screen television in lobby. The property has a knowledgeable 24-hour front desk staff eager to help guests with any questions. Wine, champagne and beer available on site until 2am. Many packages available including golf packages and casino packages. Frequent stay program and discounts available upon request. Rate match guarantee program available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Grand Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing