We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool new hotel overlooking Camp Randall Stadium”
Review of HotelRED

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HotelRED
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool new hotel overlooking Camp Randall Stadium”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Cool modern hotel. Went to Madison for tour of U.W. A little pricey, but a cool room. Great bedding. Nice tub and shower. We stayed in a two bedroom suite. The handle on the shower sticks so my wife didn't get much of a shower -- too hot. Once I forced it, it was great. Easy walk to Camp Randall, Union South, and the heart of campus. Adjacent to Mickie's Dairy Bar. Cement Floors, big screens everywhere. Definitely not for you if you like plush carpet and lots of warm woods.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite overlooking Camp Randall was really cool (301). The entire hotel is as far as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    128
    67
    30
    7
See reviews for
173
196
19
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We decided to stay in this new hotel for two days for my birthday, returning to my alma mater. The hotel, located right next to my favorite malt shop of all time, Mickie's Dairy Bar, is industrial in style, but conveniently located and really a cool place to stay. It's even better if you like red, or are a Wisconsin Badgers fan. The hotel has a convenient surface and underground parking lot (overcrowded when they hold special parties, we came to find out). The King room, which is the least expensive of all the suites there, had a view of Regent Street--not a bad view, but there could be better views. You get what you pay for there. Being a newly constructed hotel (within the last 12 mos.), it has a pretty high price point for those who prefer to be on a Best Western budget (there's a Best Western hotel approx. 1 mile away that is comfortable, but not convenient for those wanting to spend time close to campus), but we wanted to check it out. We plan to return for a weekend in July. It was that nice. See the pictures for yourself. The bed for me was a bit low and soft for my taste, despite being a platform bed, but in all fairness, I was suffering from a pretty painful low back issue. The one bit of advice for you and for the hotel management: Provide instructions on how to run the shower. It looks neat and funky, and the multiple shower heads is awesome. But I'm not a fan of blistering hot showers. My wife, who DOES like her shower hot, also complained about the temperature of the water, so if she says it's too hot, it's TOO HOT! If there are temp controls, just give us the bloody instructions! We'll be back, yes, but I do hope you provide a guide how to work the damn shower and/or control the temp!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Had a great weekend with friends. We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite, beds were super comfortable. We provided a grocery list and it was all laid out for us when we arrived. We used the shuttle service frequently and the drivers were friendly and went above and beyond to help us find certain items. Definitely a great find!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you so much for choosing HotelRED for your girl’s weekend. It sounds like you made the best use of the hotel – shuttles, grocery service etc.

Thank you as well for your kind comments about the shuttle drivers. I will certainly pass this on to our team.

If you’re ever in Madison again please let me know; I’d love to help make your stay even better.
I hope you have a great spring.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUDSON
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Hotel Red would be a good place to relive your college days especially if you lived on N. Breese Terrace across the street from Camp Randall. Just as in those glory days you could sleep until a minute before kickoff and still see the whole game. You would also be able to watch the 72,000 people swarming into the game from the comfort of your room. HotelRED is just across the street from Camp Randall and the woman at the desk told me they do not require a 2 night minimum on game weekends...I still find this incredible. I've attached a photo to show you how near you would be to the stadium...it was a foggy day so the photo looks a little dreary. Not all rooms overlook Camp Randall, but most do and the decks are HUGE. We had a smaller triangle-shaped deck and it must have been 80 square feet. The larger rectangular decks would have to be about 150 square feet. They also have an outlet on the deck (I'm not sure what you'd do with this...boombox?).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huffmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you so much for choosing HotelRED for your recent trip to Madison. It sounds like you were able to enjoy the University of Wisconsin again. I can assure you you’re right to think how fun HotelRED is on game day. The whole hotel is a sea of red! There is nothing better than the birds’ eye views from the balconies.

There are certain games (mostly non-conference) that do not require a two night minimum. These games can be even more fun because the weather normally behaves early in the season.

If you’re ever in Madison again please let me know. We’d love to make your stay even better.

I hope you have a great spring.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Great, clean, modern hotel. Offered a drink upon arrival. Stayed in the 2 bdrm suite-showers are open in each room but the toilet has a pocket door for privacy. Having the shuttle was perfect and the driver offered suggestions on where to go. Will come back with my husband

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay at HotelRED. We are very happy you chose to stay with us. Hopefully you enjoyed your girl’s weekend.

If you need anything at all before your next stay please let me know. Thanks again for your stay and for the great review.

I hope you have a great spring.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My husband and I and our puppy thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay at HotelRED. Puppy received a special greeting when she arrived and loved sitting on our room's balcony to watch the world go by. The Commuter Trail was right outside the door when we needed a walk. Our modern room was nicely decorated and appointed with a really nice spa shower and a full kitchenette (even a dishwasher!) The room was very quiet despite a reportedly loud party going on in the lobby one floor below. Linens were nice, wifi worked perfectly. Staff was friendly and helpful and there is a complimentary shuttle service. There was also complimentary coffee--nice and strong--in the lobby in the morning. UW campus and Capitol Square were an easy walk. We did not get a chance to eat in the restaurant but the menu looked great. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dairy_State
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at HotelRED. Thank you as well for brining your dog. You have no idea how this energizes everyone on our team. We love seeing the dogs enjoying themselves in the hotel.

Hopefully we will see you and your dog again. If so, please let me know if there is any way I can make your stay better.

I hope you have a great spring and thanks for the review.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My wife and I purchased the Travelzoo deal knowing nothing about the hotel besides wanting to stay in Madison. We were more than pleased with our time there.Our room was equipped with a Keurig, dishwasher, 2 burner stove, fridge, microwave, mini bar and flat screen. Everything was within reach!

The hotel is in the shadow of Camp Randall. I can only imagine what it's like on gameday. The service and amenities are more than commensurate with the price point. We were warmly greeted by the front desk staff upon check in. The staff answered all of our questions, offered us a cocktail, and informed us of the free courtesy shuttle that could run us around town (which we took advantage of).The hotel itself is a precast concrete shell with modern, comfortable, and luxurious and comfortable appointments.

We ate dinner and breakfast at the on site restaurant. The meals were expertly prepared and well plated. The bartender made the best Sidecar I've ever had. Every staff member that we talked to was warm, fun, and helpful. Our shuttle driver took us to an improv show that we made on time, quickly picked us up, and made the ride back and forth very fun.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to experience quality service in the Madison area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seemorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
714 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western PLUS InnTowner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HotelRED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HotelRED

Property: HotelRED
Address: 1501 Monroe St, Madison, WI 53711-2020
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HotelRED 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay, work, and play in one of 48 modern guestrooms and suites at HotelRED, Madison’s newest and most contemporary full-service urban boutique hotel. With vivid colors and sleek Euro-design, HotelRED surrounds guests in absolute indulgence and comfort. Join us for a cocktail, Wisconsin micro-brew, and appetizers at our lobby bar and bistro TheWise, the smoothest place to chill in town. Business meetings, private parties, and banquet facilities are available. Enjoy the local color! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your HotelRED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing