We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would I stay here again......Maybe.....for the right price.........” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HotelRED

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HotelRED
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Would I stay here again......Maybe.....for the right price.........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I booked a weekend trip here after finding a deal on Travelzoo for $149 a night for an executive suite including breakfast and 2 drinks at the Wise. I also liked how RED is pet friendly.

This place is not far from the Capital. It faces Camp Randall and is on a semi-quiet street. It's a very modern hotel, somewhat new with around 48 rooms, a small restaurant and bar. Parking was out back and is free. We had no problems finding a spot or parking the car. We checked in around 3:20 with our small dog and were friendly greeted. They oooh'ed about our dog and gave us a welcome treat bag for her. The front desk girls also offered my husband and I a welcome cocktail, which we graciously accepted. Check in was fast and they provided me with my breakfast and drink coupons. Pets are also $50 extra charge no matter how long or short the stay.

We were on the second floor, not far from the elevator and stairs. We entered the room and were very pleased at the size and features. Smooth polished concrete floors, a king bed, kitchenette, love seat, coffee table, and a very nice bathroom. The shower is beautiful, with a very modern rainfall type head, white tile, and clear glass. I wasn't really impressed with the shower as most people have stated. The pressure was just OK and the shower head is in need of cleaning because the spray was angled in places instead of straight down. At least the water was hot every day!

Our suite faced Camp Randall and had a furnished balcony. The 42" inch LCD TV is mounted to the wall, however, doesn't have pay per view movies to buy. I wanted to watch some new releases!

At night, we did notice you can hear every sound in the hallways. Slamming doors and voices. The people above us kept moving their furniture and made a lot of noise. With all the concrete, not sure if it's the echoing or the lack of sound proofing. Also, lots of street noise being so close to the street. City buses were very loud at night. I enjoyed the comfy robes in the room and we picked up some slippers from the front desk.

Drinks at the bar are excellent. The drink menu is very unique. The fact the bartender takes time to make every drink shows he cares how each and every drink tastes. Love the Moscow Mule and the Bacon Old Fashioned.

Breakfast in the AM was unique and tasty. My husband went down to order and bring up to the room since the coupons weren't valid for room service. He arrived with all food covered on a wooden tray. Nice touch! The gingered apple french toast is amazingly good. Thick cut, custardy french bread with tender apples and cream. The "Two Egg" breakfast was very good. Ordered it with turkey and sourdough. Big portion of sliced turkey, 2 large pieces of sourdough toast with butter and blueberry jam. The dauphinoise potatoes were excellent. Paper thin slices of potato layered thick with cream sauce and baked. Sliced into a triangle with a sprinkle of cheese on top. Yum. Service at the bar and restaurant was always pleasant.

One thing that has been bothering me since I got home is my missing bottle of perfume from my suitcase. At home, I placed a bottle of Calvin Klein Euphoria perfume in my suitcase amongst my clothing, took it out one day in the room, sprayed a bit on me, and promptly placed in back in my suitcase. When I got home and unpacked, it was no where to be found. I looked everywhere and I have a good memory. I'm certain it was always kept in my suitcase. I called the front desk to see if it was in lost and found or with housekeeping, just...in...case. They said they'd call me back, so we'll see.

I'm not sure if I'd stay here again for the value, but for another good deal, I definately would.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltl_leah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    124
    62
    29
    6
See reviews for
166
191
19
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel during a visit to the University of Wisconsin. My daughter thought it was very cool I had offered this as a choice of places to stay. Always good to score some "cool dad" points. Great room layout and plenty of room for the two of us. I could watch the Orange Bowl on tv and she was happy on the computer. The room had a small frig,microwave,full mini bar and treats and small stove to heat dinner. Nice big window overlooking a neighborhood. Area rug on the polished concrete floor. It was -3 outside but we were very cozy. Really.
They have a complimentary shuttle service in the local area.Jenna at the front desk drove us to the Sundance Theatre at a local mall to see a movie. She was very sweet and my daughter loved talking to her about the nightlife in Madison.
I highly recommend the theater. Dine-in type. Good food/drink.
My daughter says the gym at the hotel is "very cool".
The hotel is directly across from the football stadium on the south end of campus. Its not in the heart of the school but it is a special treat. Room was $143 with AAA discount.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor. Nice views and plenty of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseymaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
304 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

If you are looking for plush and cozy, go somewhere else. This is a cutting edge hotel with massive cement walls, floors and ceiling. It is hard and urban but surprisingly welcoming. The floors are polished concrete but the rooms are spacious and the bed is very comfortable. Not to be forgotten is the BEST shower ever. If you are in Madison, stay here, I know I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I spent a night in Madison in November and was very surprised to find HotelRed. A great funky little boutique style hotel that is evidently quite new. The room was reasonably spacious with a very comfy bed and a small but well appointed bathroom. Love the choice of lots of different shower heads. The bar and restaurant just off the foyer have a great little menu for lunch and then breakfast the next morning. The bar staff were most attentive and mixed a mean cocktail.

It would be my first choice if I'm ever back in Madison.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at HotelRED. I am very glad you found us! Thank you as well for the nice comments, they’ll go a long way.

If you’re ever in Madison again please let me know, I’d love to do whatever I can to make your next stay even better.

I hope you have a great winter (or summer in Australia). Thanks again and Happy Holidays.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I came to Madison for a recruiting trip at UW-Madison and stayed at the Hotel Red hotel. I did not know what to expect, but the hotel was great. I stayed in the Premier Studio Suite and the room was set up like a loft with trendy furniture and a mini kitchen. The room also had a nice size balcony. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitetn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you so much for the nice note about HotelRED. We certainly appreciate your kind words. I hope you had a successful recruiting trip!

If you ever in Madison again please let me know, we’d love to make your stay even better.

I hope you have a great weekend and thanks again.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked a room here for the WI Badger game on a Saturday night. We were able to get the room for one night, where most other locations all required a 2 night stay. The hotel was exactly what we were looking for. You couldn't possibly get any closer to Camp Randall! The roof was very modern and the bed was super comfortable. All necessary options were in the room including a fridge, stove, coffee maker, pull out sofa sleeper, microwave. We may have spent a little more to stay here, but it was definitely worth it!
We would pick this hotel again without any thought.

Room Tip: Our balcony overlooked Camp Randall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wicowboyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us for a Badger game. It sounds like you had a great time. We are very lucky to be directly across from Camp Randall Stadium – it certainly provides a great vantage point.

We are also very thankful for the nice review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests.
If you ever need anything at all over a future trip to Madison please let me know. I’d love to help however I can.

I hope you have a great winter and thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Right across from Camp Randall stadium. Great shower, modern decor, great check in. We were offered a cocktail upon checking in and were given excellent chocolates. The beds were comfortable, including the sleeper sofa in the living area. We had breakfast at the hotel - interesting menu including great dauphinoise potatoes. Our server, Ashley, was attentive without hovering and told us some history of the hotel. This is a great place to stay in Madison, right in the middle of all the action.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suites are very room and include two full baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishteacher28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
1.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HotelRED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HotelRED

Property: HotelRED
Address: 1501 Monroe Street, Madison, WI 53711
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HotelRED 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay, work, and play in one of 48 modern guestrooms and suites at HotelRED, Madison’s newest and most contemporary full-service urban boutique hotel. With vivid colors and sleek Euro-design, HotelRED surrounds guests in absolute indulgence and comfort. Join us for a cocktail, Wisconsin micro-brew, and appetizers at our lobby bar and bistro TheWise, the smoothest place to chill in town. Business meetings, private parties, and banquet facilities are available. Enjoy the local color! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your HotelRED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing