We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, quiet, more than adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Madison
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
326 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, more than adequate”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Country Inn and Suites in Madison/Monona provided a nice, quiet room with a decent pool and good internet connection. We stayed for a business/family trip. My 10 year old enjoyed the pool and there are several decent eating options within walking distance. Breakfast was OK. Cereal, donuts, a few warm items, juice. Nothing extraordinary here, but it was what we wanted it to be - clean and quiet, with a pool. If we are back in the area we will come back to this facility.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    97
    25
    17
    10
See reviews for
113
31
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The hotel is in a good location for sight seeing and easy access to the interstate. They recently renovated the rooms and the beds are very comfortable.

However, the staff (except for the cleaning staff) have the personality of a dead fish. They are polite enough, but they are not friendly. From some of the desk staff, you never hear a good morning or good evening. The same with the person who sets up the breakfast. I have stayed at this hotel for years, but maybe it is time to change.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrons55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Arrived feeling very ill, with a voice to prove it, Staff brought up food and liquids to my room and called up later to see if I needed a doctor . Not a awarding prize , but when you are on your own that little extra effort is appreciated.This attitude reflects a hotel worth staying at!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunmkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freezing in MN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We stayed here for my daughter's college graduation. I like staying a bit out of downtown Madison when I travel there because parking in downtown Madison is such a hassle. The Country Inn & Suites was a very good choice! Has its own parking lot (free) and is near several chain restaurants, a grocery store, a Caribou AND Starbucks. The rooms were clean, staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good. Cookies and coffee are always available in the lobby, which is very nice - the coffee was GOOD, too. The icing on the cake was that they have "the room where Santa sleeps" open for viewing. The actually turned one of their rooms (108) into a showcase where kids can go see where Santa sleeps when he visits the area. Very cute!.

The hotel itself was very quiet - never hear another person our entire stay. The rooms has coffeemakers, fridge, and microwave. A must when traveling with kids. They were also helpful in arranging connecting rooms as we were a group of 8 traveling together. The beds are a little on the hard side, but the linens were clean and plentiful.

The only "negative" was the pool size - and I have experienced this at other Country Inns. It is very small and wouldn't keep older kids entertained for any period of time. However, there is a game room and an exercise room (both clean as a whistle). Just a heads up as you are planning a trip with teens about the pool :)

We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momof6kidsinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Slightly better than average Country Inn, due to it's lakeside location. Usual Twee decor and cookies in reception. Decent rooms, pool and breakfast. No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We recently spent 10 days at the Country Inn and Suites, Monona. The experience was delightful. The management was extremely friendly and efficient, the receptionists very knowledgeable and courteous. The daily breakfasts were totally sufficient for our needs. The 24/7 coffee was almost Starbucks quality and the cleaning service always well done. There were really no negatives to our stay. Even the pool was just the right size, large enough for swimming but not so large that the water was cold! You could not go wrong with this hotel, and when we visit family again in the Madison area, this will always be our first choice.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarheelvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Hotel is located in Madison, WI. It has a very pretty outside, and descent work out room and pool area. When you first walk in the people at the desk, and in general are very nice and accomadating. If you are closterphobic then I would reconmend somewhere else. The rooms are small, and wasn't totally clean. Also, pretty noisy, hearing teenager boys 3 am below our room yelling and screaming and nothing was done. I was very disappointed...It's too exspensive for what you get. I don't think I'll be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passionfruit101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#27 of 63 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
6.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
Address: 400 River Pl, Madison, WI 53716-4028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home when you stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson in Madison, WI. Each room features a king or two queen size beds with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. The Free High Speed Internet Access will keep you in touch with work or family. The great central location is just minutes from Downtown Madison, University of Wisconsin and the State Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Madison
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Hotel Madison
Country Inn Monona
Monona Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing