We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of Privacy, Too Much Debris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Lack of Privacy, Too Much Debris”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We visited for a one night stay. The staff was very nice and welcoming.
However, for a room that cost over $100 a night . . .
-Our room was on the first floor, and the only curtain was sheer. We had to rig our comforter to hang in front of the window for privacy.
-It seemed as if some work was done in the room, but was not cleaned up. There were pieces of sheetrock and other debris on the counter and floor. Someone must have been thirsty, as there was red punch and a cup in the garbage.
-Earwigs.

Room Tip: Don't get a first floor room due to lack of privacy (curtain is sheer and parking lot is right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us. We apologize for the inconveniences and the cleanliness issues that you experienced with us.

Sincerely,

Andrea Hunter
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    99
    26
    21
    12
See reviews for
128
33
14
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Third floor north is the nicest view. there's a lagoon and occasionally some kaykers, canoeists or stand-up boarders to watch. B'fast good. Mostly well kept. Always a pot o' joe and some cookies and fruit in the lobby.

Room Tip: We always ask for high up, north side. You can see a lagoon and canoeists, kayakers and paddle boar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dicksdeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and for the wonderful description of our backyard.

Randy Rudd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Zurich
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here for a college visit to the University of Wisconsin-Madison. We had the two-room parlor suite. The separate room is perfect for putting the little one to bed earlier, while staying up for a few hours with the older two. The suite was extremely roomy. We did enjoy swimming at the pool after check-in. The pool area was clean and nice! The thermostat in the room with the king did not seem equal to the front room. With both rooms set at the same temperature, the front room was almost cold while the room with the king was a bit warm. Breakfast was good, but it took time to refill the waffle batter, juice machine, etc. My daughter liked the burrito. My on-line reservation specified a king bed in the one room, and a single and double pull-out in the other room. Upon arrival, we saw that the single was not there. We were charged $10 for a rollaway. I did follow-up with customer service via email to explain the discrepancy. The manager agreed that the on-line description did not match the room and gave me bonus points for a free night.

Room Tip: The two-room suite is very roomy for a larger family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay while visiting the UW campus. We apologize again for the room description discripancy.

Randy Rudd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed here on a recent business trip. I got an extremely good rate which made up for a lot. Overall the facility seemeed rather worn. I was upgraded into a suite which did not feel very roomy - old design. The room was ok - not as nice as a Residence Inn but much cheaper. The only problem was an extremely heavy comforter - even with the thermostat set at 65 I was too warm. The internet servise was very fast and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your stay with us. We very much appreciate the feedback and we are happy to inform you that we are currently renovating and updating our hotel.

Randy Rudd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We checked in late in the day, with no reservation. This was not a problem. The room was very comfortable and everything worked! (See my AmericInn - Monona, WI review).

Breakfast was good the next morning, coffee fine but with Starbuck's across the road, our coffee was even better once we visited them!

The hotel is situated close to the Beltway, making it an easy on/off and is close to our son's home, which allows for a quick & easy drive there. The best part of the location, however, is that it's in a scenic area dotted with shops and a pond where a kayak store/school is located; we were able to get out go for a long walk before taking off for the 9-hour drive home.

The bed was comfortable, the shower worked and the room was quiet. These are definitely worth rebooking for in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynwimmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. We very much appreciate it and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Madison.

Randy Rudd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This is a decent hotel for the price, but I have to agree with other reviews that housekeeping and desk staff need additional training. We stayed for four nights during a family reunion and found the lodgings to be adequate, but I would probably try somewhere else next visit to the Madison area.

Good stuff:
Breakfast was included and really quite delightful. Served buffet-style in a bright morning room, the hotel changed up the menu a little each day. Very nice that they included eggs (omelet, scrambled, breakfast burrito on various mornings) and make-it-yourself waffles.

Cookies, coffee and fresh fruit available in the lobby.

Nice little pond view available -- and the staff took care to meet my request to give us adjoining rooms with this view.

Rooms were dark and quiet for sleeping (with white noise from air conditioner, which worked well).

Not-so-good stuff:
Housekeeping left a little to be desired, e.g. bathroom drain was very slow, and not much improved (if at all?) after reporting it to housekeeping; bathroom door stuck; room cleaning was not thorough (used cups left on counter and not replaced); toiletries not replaced each day.

Hotel definitely caters to families with young children -- expect some noise, heavily-chlorinated pool, etc.

Coffee maker was s-l-o-w.

"Suites" is in the name, but I was told that none of the suites can be adjoined to standard rooms. We ended up with two queen bed rooms adjacent, but we've enjoyed better setups in other hotels.

All in all, it's okay -- but you can probably do better.

Room Tip: Third floor room with pond view is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We very much appreciate the feedback both good and bad. And we apologize for the issues and concerns that you expressed.

Randy Rudd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinette, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed here because my regular hotel was booked,- never again. Looks nice from the outside but the inside, not so much. In the stairwells I was greeted with pest control (rodent traps), the room was antiquated but relatively clean and the staff was very nice. Just couldnt get the traps out of my mind.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concern you shared about your experience at this hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Randy Rudd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#25 of 63 in Madison
520 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
4.3 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#13 of 63 in Madison
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
Address: 400 River Pl, Madison, WI 53716-4028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home when you stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson in Madison, WI. Each room features a king or two queen size beds with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. The Free High Speed Internet Access will keep you in touch with work or family. The great central location is just minutes from Downtown Madison, University of Wisconsin and the State Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Madison
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Hotel Madison
Country Inn Monona
Monona Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing