We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2007

I stayed here for two weeks. The hotel was very pleasant-like a home. My room was perfectly clean, comfortable, and roomy. The bed was okay, but the comforter wasn't all that comfortable. There was free wireless internet that worked PERFECTLY and several TV channels. The bathroom was a nice size and the bath tub was big. The shower head felt wonderful. Free breakfast in the morning was okay-but the food was lacking. Overall, I really loved the whole feel of the place. It was comfortable and quiet. The staff was very friendly and they even let me leave one of my huge suitcases there when I took a weekend trip to New Orleans so that I wouldn't have to take it with me. I would definetly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank misstaryn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    97
    25
    17
    10
See reviews for
113
31
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2007

I stayed at this motel for one night in July 2007. It was VERY hot in Monona, and the air conditioning in this motel was a real problem. It would run a while and then turn off completely; then come back on in a little while. Everytime it came on or went off, it was with a noticeable noise - enough so that it woke me up on and off all night long. When I complained abou this, I was told that " this is just the way our a.c. runs". I moved to a near-by place the next morning. The rest of the place wa pleasant - nice large room, comfortable bed - but in hot weather, this place would be impossible for me.

midwesternerOhio

  • Liked — nice-sized room
  • Disliked — the air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwesternerOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBUQUE, IOWA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2005

Check in went fine we went to bed early 9-10ish and were woken by kids running in the halls at midnight and at 1 am. Room was very warm and no heat was on. When we woke in the morning we went to the hot tub to find no towels and asked for them to bring some. Tables in the pool area were still all filled with dirty towels and pop cans, wrappers on the floor everywhere. I finally went and found towels myself so we could get out of the hot tub 30 minutes later. Then we showered and went downstairs to the breakfast room. Once again Every table was filthy, sticky, I had to go get a towel myself and wash one so we could sit and eat. Finally two people showed up that worked the area but did not bother to clean tables still and she saw me put the dirty dish towel back in the sink!! Nice hotel, clean rooms but the upkeep by employees is very poor. Oh and I almost forgot when we left our room to go to the hottub across the hall from us on the floor infont of a room was a maxi pad opened and laying there. LOVELY! The only way I would stay there again is if I could not find another place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKHAMMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2005

Our family stayed at the Country Inn and overall we had a good experience. The rooms were large. Service was fine. Our only complaint was that there were a block of rooms reserved due to a wedding, but our room was on a different floor from everyone elses. Otherwise it was a nice hotel, decent breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cato16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, FL
Level Contributor
230 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2005

Unlike the famous Cheers Bar, they don't know who you are. I stayed here for one month last year and they still treated me like a stranger every time I approached the front desk. The room was OK, the maid service was above par and the "free" breakfast was average. Oh, and less than two blocks away is a dynamite breakfast restaurant. the waitress there knew me after two mornings.

Helpful?
5 Thank BarefootTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2004

My husband and I spent an evening anniversary get-away here, booking a whirlpool suite. While the hotel was nice, there were a few little problems with the room: the non-smoking room had a strong odor of cigarettes when we first opened the bathroom door; the toilet had a crack (but was fully functional); the room's ceiling had damage, most likely from a leaky whirlpool or bath on the next floor above, (but it didn't leak while we were there, it just didn't look very nice); room was noisy, as most hotels in this chain don't have very solid/thick wall construction; breakfast area was cramped and crowded, but make-own-waffles were delecious. An ok stay, but not worth the higher price for the suite room. Staff was friendly, so no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knitknut44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#25 of 63 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
6.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
Address: 400 River Pl, Madison, WI 53716-4028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home when you stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson in Madison, WI. Each room features a king or two queen size beds with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. The Free High Speed Internet Access will keep you in touch with work or family. The great central location is just minutes from Downtown Madison, University of Wisconsin and the State Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Madison
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Hotel Madison
Country Inn Monona
Monona Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing