We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique spot for a good drink”

Old Sugar Distillery
Ranked #1 of 52 Nightlife in Madison
Attraction details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unique spot for a good drink”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stopped here while visiting the Madsion area and were very pleased. Our bartender let us sample some of the spirits while telling us a bit about the place and the different drinks. I ordered the honey cap made with their honey liqueur and my husband got the root beer drink made with their Ouzo. Both drinks were delicious and reasonably priced. The atmosphere was perfect for a relaxing drink on a Saturday night. If we lived in the area we'd definitely be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbeyRoad5612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan G, Owner at Old Sugar Distillery, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Thanks for the 5 star review! I am really happy you had a great time. The Honey-Cap is our all-time most popular cocktail, and it was recently voted top cocktail in Madison by readers of The Isthmus.
We hope to see you again next time you're in the area. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unique time”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The drinks make this visit worthwhile. It's fun finding the place and feeling like you've arrived at your off-the-beaten-path destination. Time will hopefully add more character to what can seem a relatively sterile spot. It has a sort charm meets HomeDepot feeling in my opinion. Get the tour which doesn't even require leaving your seat as it all in eye-shot basically. Get your taster and then order up. The drinks are well made and the prices are not off-putting. not the kinda place I would spend an evening, but makes a great stop before heading out for Friday fish fry!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank madaneson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Brandy Old Fashioned - A Wisconsin Favorite”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Went to this place on a Saturday in November, looking for something to do. It is a great venue - their drinks are awesome (and potent). I would recommend renting some B-cycles and biking over (one block off the bike path).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Recall-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The place. Yes THE place.”
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

I love this place. It is the coolest place around. Incredible feel. Don't really know what it is. Just go.

Helpful?
2 Thank Frozevol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint and friendly”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

They offer free samples for your first visit. That's almost all you'll need of the good stuff....whew! Try their honey specialty drinks very unique.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Sugar Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Old Sugar Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing