We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing....Never staying in a GrandStay again.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing....Never staying in a GrandStay again.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were leaving Chicago and decided to stop at a hotel instead of driving home so we could relax in a hot tub for a while. Our hotel in Chicago didn't have one and this sounded more fun then driving until 1 am. We get to the hotel and the pool and hot tub are tiny, which isn't the end of the world. But the hot tub didn't even work. The jets don't stay on unless someone stands there and holds the button. We went up to the front desk and they got it to work by shoving a bottle top in the button to keep it on, but the water was still cold. To top things off, the room wasn't even all that great. There were stains all over the floors. We should probably just have left, what a waste of money. We could have gone home for free, we just wanted to sit in a hot tub for a while and it didn't even work. I mentioned this to the front desk twice and they really didn't seem to care. I will never consider staying at one of these hotels ever again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank symn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are so sorry that our hot tub was not fuctioning correctly. As for the rooms we are currently updating all of our carpets, furniture, and paint, and we hope you give us another chance in the near future. Thank you for your comment and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    70
    48
    20
    18
See reviews for
149
46
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
288 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our favorite hotel to stay at when we visit our children in Madison got even better. We had my mother with us and reserved the 'room' with two separate bedrooms, giving us the privacy that we all needed at a much lower cost than renting two separate rooms. We shall do this again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliverandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Spent one night with family and service dog when traveling across country. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They gave us maps for downtown Madison and recommended a strip of restaurants where we could find food. They said if we weren't as adventurous they were a skip and hop away from the mall and chain restaurants.

The room and lobby itself is gorgeous. It's well worth above and beyond the money we paid. They honor AAA and government rates. The room was a huge suite. It had a kitchen with a dishwasher and a mink fridge, utensils and plates. No desk but an island like area served as dining and desk. Bathroom was a handicap style bathroom.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank YellowForsythia .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The interior is more like a spacious living room than a hotel lobby. Free wifi, breakfast and great tea/coffee 24/7. There's also a small exercise room, pool/spa, convenience store and on site coin laundry. The one bedroom suite was spacious, had a full kitchen with utensils and a full size refrigerator. There were two flat screens with the living room having a DVD player. No DVDs to rent on site, but the desk clerk suggested the Pawn America store about 10 min walk. The DVDs there were $2. If on Government travel, ask for rooms within the per diem rate. Mine came a full $20 under.

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct for the best room value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for one night but it would be perfect for a longer stay. Excellent little kitchenette, very efficient floor plan. The breakfast area is very nice; wish it had been warmer so we could have gone outside to sit. There was a tiny basketball court, putting green, and play area. Our room had a few housekeeping issues, otherwise we would have rated it 5 stars. All staff that we saw were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank halltab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was almost the mid point of a long journey. I don't know what my hubby and I expected, but believe me, this place exceeded those expectations. It was a little weird when we got there because in order to get into the front door of the hotel you needed a key pass and the night clerk that came to open the door was a little strange, but after giving this some thought and considering the guy that happened to be lurking in the parking lot, we decided that the extra security was an excellent feature! Once we got into the lobby, we knew we made the right choice in selecting this hotel. The lobby area was decked out and the was a nice little breakfast area. When we got up to the room we were further surprised. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. The bed was so big and soft, neither of us really remembered going to sleep, just waking up and feeling refreshed. We're not used to staying in suites so the kitchen and the separate bedroom blew us away! All we needed of the kitchen was the fridge to store our snacks, but had I know, we would have stopped and picked up something to cook for breakfast. Which brings me to why this place only got 4 stars: the breakfast is terrible. Loved the hotel, loved it, but the breakfast was sooo disappointing. Especially considering how high everything else had raised our standards. The continental food items were fine, croissants, etc, but the eggs were horrible, it almost ruined my entire appetite and that's saying a lot. Stay here, but bring something to cook for breakfast if you want a hot one. Also, I will say that the clerk said that the hotel was booked, but aside from the full parking lot, you would never know! It was so quiet, it felt like we were the only ones there.

Room Tip: We had a great room on the 3rd floor a ways from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maogun23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My family of seven stayed at the Grandstay for two weeks and I have to say the accommodations and staff were excellent. The staff was very nice and keyed in to their guests, I witnessed and experienced the attention to detail that the Grandstay staff show guests. Janet, Joe and Nora especially made our stay during a very emotional time an extremely pleasant experience. The homey little touches and extras truly made the difference. I would definitely recommend the Grandstay in Madison Wisconsin to anyone ( especially families ) who need long-term hotel accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
0.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#18 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison

Property: GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
Address: 5317 High Crossing Blvd, Madison, WI 53718-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Madison
#6 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing