We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and worth the visit”

University of Wisconsin Geology Museum
Ranked #23 of 96 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the Geology Museum and take a peek into Wisconsin's deep history!On your visit you can touch rocks from a time when there were volcanoesin Wisconsin; see corals, jellyfish and other sea creatures that used tolive and swim where we now walk; and stand under the tusks of a mastodonwhile imagining yourself in the Ice Age. Also on display at the GeologyMuseum are rocks and minerals that glow, a model of a Wisconsin cave,dinosaurs and meteorites.Our mineral, rock and fossil collections have the power to educate andinspire visitors of all ages. Come see for yourself!
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Small and worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

University of Wisconsin runs this museum. Small but has all the key attractions that make it worth the visit. It has a small gift shop and if you are a new rock collector here is the place to obtain some really nice small pieces for your collection at reasonable prices.

Would return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pdonatyandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    40
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brodhead, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rainy day with the kids? Here's a place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I've taken school groups to the Geo museum for several years. For a small museum, it has a lot of nifty exhibits and artifacts. Kids will love seeing the unique minerals and, of course, the dinosaur and mammal bones.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SadiByrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Small but fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Small museum on the UW Campus (which made parking difficult to find.)

Great exhibits with many large samples of rocks and gems. There is an area lit by black light to see the various samples glow. Many fossils also, with a sigh stating they are working on an exhibit to let you touch dinosaur bones.

Best part were the rocks and fossils for sale outside the museum. Our son was able to get large samples for a good price.

Thank you! We'd visit again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jaywalker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
137 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Really great free musuem, parking hard to find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My boys are really in to rocks and fossils, so we definitely wanted to include a quick trip here when we were on our road trip this summer. My boys are ages 10 and 12. We all really enjoyed this free musuem. It's not very big, but it is packed with some really interesting rocks, fossils, minerals, and dinosaur bones. We have looked at many types of fossils and rocks, and we really enjoyed what they had to offer here. We got through it in about an hour, and that was really taking our time. They do have bathrooms and water fountains, and its not too hard to find.

But finding parking IS really difficult. We drove around for about 30 mins trying to find a space to park, and there weren't any garages nearby, so it was street parking only. Being in a college area, there were a lot of permit only parking signs up. We finally found a spot about 2 blocks from the museum, but were a bit frustrated until then.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ritawiebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I can't change the date....but it's a great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I spent many hours with my kids at the Geology Museum. WHat kid doesn't go for fossils and neat stuff. It's small and free...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SueHWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed University of Wisconsin Geology Museum also viewed

 

Been to University of Wisconsin Geology Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing