We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful donuts drenched in oil with a funny odor”

Monty's Blue Plate Diner
Ranked #17 of 983 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$11
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Monty's Blue Plate Diner serves breakfast all day, every day. Our menu features incredible burgers, sandwiches, salads, vegetarian and vegan selections. Our award-winning pies, cakes, cupcakes and cookies are made from scratch daily.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Awful donuts drenched in oil with a funny odor”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I picked up a dozen of donuts to bring to work from this place, and who knows that the donuts turned out to be hella greasy as if they were still soaked in oil? The texture was funny with oil squirting out from each donut, and the oil has a funky smell too. I guess that I would not spend $9.50 to purchase a dozen from here but from Greenbush Bakery for $10.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zygomycota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    97
    34
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place for any meal”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have never been unhappy with any food selection there. Their entrees are fabulous, the breakfast is awesome, the burgers are juicy (get the waffle fries!). They also have the best darn desserts in the city! They also have fantastic coffee. You can't go wrong with Monty's Blue Plate! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdouglas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Classic!”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Down home cooking in Madison's best neighborhood! I have been going here since I was a kid and it has always held up. They serve mostly american classics but some have a twist. Be sure to get the waffle fries with their homemade Ranch, out of this world!

The prices are fair- most dishes under $10.
There is also a wait much of the time, so plan ahead.

They have many bakery items made in house. I always go for the carrot cake!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank rebabeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good menu”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Breakfast was great. Family had all they could want.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dewski33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Lacks Fresh OJ”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I'm not a huge fan of the atmosphere - it's a little loud and the seating is not incredibly comfortable. The breakfast itself is pretty good, though it lacks fresh-squeezed orange juice. I love their fair trade coffee.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mellebell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monty's Blue Plate Diner also viewed

 

Been to Monty's Blue Plate Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing