We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent- Great choice for first timers or those with kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ginza of Tokyo

Ginza of Tokyo
Ranked #652 of 980 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“decent- Great choice for first timers or those with kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Good show of the Japanese steak house cooking.
Food has always been tasty and in a generous quantity.
However I think the prices are a bit high for the quality. ~$20/person.
For first timers or those with kids- Great Fun and something different to add to evening out. (which makes the $20 well worth it) Return trips start to feel a bit like cattle pushed into the table and always given the same show. Wish they had more options.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    7
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Long Wait with Reservations and Little Reward”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

After visiting Ginza's on the east side of Madison last year, we were excited to go there again, only to discover that the lease was up and it was closed. A notice on the door gave the address of the west side (Odana Rd.) location. Figuring it was worth the drive, we made reservations and headed out with watering mouths the next evening. The first red flag should have been the sign outside which was only half lit. It made the restaurant hard to detect and made it look kind of dingy. Even though we had reservations, we waited 45 minutes for the table to be cleaned. Service was mediocre, and the food, although plentiful, was pretty tasteless. The Habachi chef had no "wow" factor at all, and seemed as bored as we were. We were embarrassed since we had invited guests to join us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cronicktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Discriminates against mothers!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Discriminates against mothers. I made reservations and made it clear my wife needs a hibachi with a chair since the booths are tight. I made it clear when we arrived. We waited a half hour and suddenly they sat others at the table we reserved. I tried to make them correct the situation immediatey. They told us no that my wife could sit outside the area for the hibachi away from others. What a joke. Safe to say she began to cry feeling like an outcast from the group. I asked for the manager who showed no interet in caring. Avoid this place especially if value family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigchad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A fun dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We love the hibachi table set-up with the chef cooking right in front of you and it's fun to share the table with others to enjoy the whole experience. Our go-to place when our taste buds are calling for oriental food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 11LindaR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very nice and private”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

authentic japanese atmosphere , the food is wonderful and the servers do a great job too. very romantic and relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank russ1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ginza of Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing