We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A visit is a must if in the area on a Saturday”
Review of Madison Farmer's Market - CLOSED

Madison Farmer's Market
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The largest producer-only farmers' market in the U.S. Each Saturday from mid-April through the first week of November on the Capitol Square, in Madison, WI.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A visit is a must if in the area on a Saturday”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

During my stay in Madison I made a few visits. It is well situated in the city square and easy to get too. The large market takes quite a time to walk around and see all the stalls. I cannot think of a better place to buy Maple syrup once you have had a taste.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pedropedlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    68
    21
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
476 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“People watching, tasty food”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were there on a middle August Saturday which was perfect timing for many crops to be fresh for the market which is held in the street which circles the state capital. Many vendors selling cheese of course-this is Wisconsin. A lot of depth of vegetables, specialty foods, street buskers, entertainers, bakers and some politicians. Highly recommended as this is a free event you can walk around and enjoy people watching to see some of the unique piercings and tattoos that one typically doesn’t see in the surrounding areas of the Midwest. Will be back again and if this was helpful, please give me a vote.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Veni-vidi-vicidotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Come early, come often”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It was our first time to the market and the square was jam-packed with both vendors and shoppers. My wife loaded up on produce of all kinds at great prices. Lots of organic goods - kids were mostly kept in check with delicious baked goods and wind sprints on the Capitol grass.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank wineglobelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, WI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Farmer's Market!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I love this Farmer's Market. You can graze your way through the experience or just purchase yummy stuff to take home and cook/eat. You will find a huge line next on one corner for the cheesy hot bread. It's worth the experience. I wish there were more gluten free bakers, but we did find two options. Go early because by 11, so of the vendors were already packing up and sold out. It is a busy place, so be prepared for big crowds around 10:00. Still very, very worth it and you can also stop in and see the capitol or walk down state street afterwards!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jensings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“FIBS Vienna All-beef Hot Dogs - I only wish”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was looking forward to a dog from the food vendor - FIBS. That was def not a Vienna all-beef hot dog as stated - it was a water-logged pink hot dog. Too bad, they have great options but really need to deliver what they advertise on their food sign.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nekko95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madison Farmer's Market also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing