We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nosebleed seats in Overture Hall literally are!”

Overture Center for the Arts
Ranked #1 of 12 Museums in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nosebleed seats in Overture Hall literally are!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Kathy Griffin show, mid-October. Paid $100 for pair of seat WAAAAAAY up in the back of the room. Seats themselves were uncomfortable enough (smaller, much smaller than those on the main floor) but - it was SO HOT up there, I actually got a nosebleed! Ushers had to have been aware; they were not easy to flag down, as we watched them sit in the cooler area down below us. Coupled w. the rude gals sitting in front of us on their Facebook phones, my bleeding nose and my wife nearly passing out, I can't recommend the balcony seats in Overture Hall - whoever designed that room has got to be kidding!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    53
    15
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Delton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our family went to see the Madison orchestra for the Christmas concert. We enjoyed this venue greatly. It is close to parking and tons of restaurants. The sounds inside the theater are amazing. Oh and before we went into the theater, there were carolers in the lobby. Beautiful place. Returning this year for A Christmas Carol.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to see a show!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We've seen several live shows here, most recently in July. This venue is well run and there are plenty of staff members on hand to help you get where you need to be. The hall itself is excellent but we would recommend seats in the lower portion verses the mezzanine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
1,031 reviews
223 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Good shows”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is where most of Madison's concerts and Broadway shows are at. Seats are nice and prices are comparable to other venues. A good variety of shows are held here. It's convenient and located right off of State Street. Parking, as with everything along State Street, can be difficult at times.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tunaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison, wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Entertainment for All”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

From the stunning glass architecture to the glorious Overture theatre, this is a true showcase for Madison. The beauty and sound in the theater is perfect for the Madison Symphony Orchestra, the Madison Opera, and visiting Broadway shows. Wedding receptions, concerts, art galleries, restaurant and gift shop round out this spectacular spot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fern58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Overture Center for the Arts also viewed

 

Been to Overture Center for the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing