We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel is new and one of the nicest Hamptons I have stayed in. The location is convenient to downtown. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. It has a good breakfast and free internet. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInn-Downtown, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at Hampton Inn and Suites- Madison Downtown ! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the all the hotel had to offer. We will continue to strive to create a warm and welcoming environment for all of our guests. We hope to see you again on your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    129
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
387
211
39
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Brand new hotel with big rooms located close to State Street, the capitol and the campus. Nikki at the front desk was exceptional and provided great service. The free breakfast wasn't all that good, but typical for a hotel. That was the only negative. Wifi worked great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badger7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInn-Downtown, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thankyou so much for taking time to share about your recent stay with us. I just went out and gave Nicki a high five for her exceptional guest service. She was touched by your recognition. We take great pride in service and excellence.

We will take a look at updating to options of our on the house hot breakfast to provide better selection and service. being new, we appreciate any feedback to better enhance our guest amenities, and services.

Again, Thankyou for staying at the Hampton Inn and Suites-Madison Down town. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Unlike most Hamptons, this 11 story high rise was built more like a Hilton Garden Inn. Besides being situated right near State Street and the main of UW Madison Campus (as well as just a few short blocks off Capital Square), this newly opened (1 month now) hotel is new, modern and comfy. On Property, there is a workout room, nice indoor pool, Business Center area where Computer and Printer access, Full Service Hampton Breakfast and a Lunch/Dinner restaurant/bar. Parking is in a 4 story parking garage attached to the sprawling L shaped Hotel. Only down side to it is that there is an $11 nightly charge to park your car. This Hotel has been open only about 6 weeks now and staff is still learning. They are all nice, but efficiency and speed aren't yet there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInn-Downtown, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were passing through the Madison, and for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are happy to hear all your possitive comments about our location, and amenities. We too take pride in providing such high end services.

We also appreciate your feedback about the parking, and the front desk efficiency. Being a brand new hotel, our staff continues to work diligently to improve speed and knowledge so the can provide the best service possible to our guests. Our goal is to make sure our guests have a fun and comfortable time during their stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again and wowing you with an exceptional stay partnered with efficient service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmen, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

WOW!! Perfect location, beautiful new hotel, felt safe with the security system, can't wait to stay there again. Staff was very friendly (breakfast host could have been more friendly). Highly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone looking to stay in Madison.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInn-Downtown, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Being a brand new hotel, these reviews are so important to inform what we do well, and what we can improve on.
We share these reviews with our staff weekly and I know it really makes them feel good when they hear positive feedback, and they also appreciate constructive feedback as well. Thank you for writing and for your "WOW" factor response. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Lovely, brand new Hampton in Madison! Beautiful, modern decor and enhanced security (keycard scan required to access guest floors on elevators). Wonderful location close to capital, university, and State Street dining and shops. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInn-Downtown, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for the positive review. It's great to hear that our guests are enjoying what we have to offer-including our prime downtown location. Value and location are key contributers to satisfaction in todays world and it sounds like we met your expectations. Again we appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mundelein,IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel is easy to find and the parking garage entrance is right up front so you don't have to hunt for it. THe elevator requires your room key to access the guest floor for security. Rooms are large with plenty of room. The King size room was a very open floor plan with Kitchette. I had not problems sleeping. Very little noise if any. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank brp92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInn-Downtown, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to easily locate the hotel. We would be honored to have the opportunity to accomodate you again when visiting the Madison area- Hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Loved every minute of my stay. Staff was awesome and very informative. Lobby and fireplace had an incredible wow factor! Very modern and hip but still comfortable. It was raining outside so sitting by the fireplace was relaxing. Great location. Close to University and activities.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInn-Downtown, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you so much for leaving the nice comments about our hotel and staff. I am glad your family enjoyed your stay! I too love the fire place so that the guests can sit and relax just like they were at home. Thank you again and hope to see your family again if your travels ever bring you back to Madison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Address: 440 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-2206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of downtown Madison, adjacent to the University of Wisconsin Madison. Our hotel is close to shopping, dining, and leisure options with a free fitness center, indoor swimming pool, and whirlpool. Included in every stay is free hot breakfast, clean and fresh Hampton beds, and free internet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing