We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
176 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice, new hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great location, and the hotel is new. The staff was very friendly and welcoming.Our view from the tenth floor was great. The towels were nice, and the beds were great. Unfortunately, I wish there was something they could do about the HVAC system. When it was on, it was noisy and the room was freezing, and when it was off, the room was stuffy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Samantha484,

Thank you for the kind words! We love our location too! We are conveniently located smack dab in the middle of all the action. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, but I am sorry to hear about your HVAC system in your room. If you could please connect with me via email and tell me the room number, we can get this fixed right away. My email is Luehrs@raymondteam.com Your feedback is very much appreciated.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We hope to see you back at the hotel soon!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    129
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
387
211
39
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Why, yes. Yes, I can. What a great place! Rooms were comfy and clean. GREAT location. I was here with a small-ish but particular group of guests for work. Everyone loved it. Very clean and modern. Staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. My favorite part? They allow students into the common area to hang out, use the wifi, and have a couple of pieces of fruit... and that is just good karma.
I would recommend them highly for a business stay or personal stay.
Easy to walk to places for a quick break. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTravelJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear MsTravelJones,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love our location too! We are right in the middle of all the action. Our team works very hard to make everything great for the guest, I will gladly pass along the compliments.
Thank you for all the kind words. We look forward to you staying with us again soon!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hales Corners, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is only 5 months old. We had a suite on the 10th floor. The service here was outstanding. Everybody asked how you were doing, and was there anything you needed. The mornings had a free breakfast. We stayed here because we were in the 5 mile run, walk for the university of madison. The location was perfect. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who comes to Madison.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite. They have a refigerator, micowave, big screen T.V. and nice sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Mark R,

Thank you for the kind words, we really appreciate them! I will gladly pass these compliments on to the team. We have a great staff and I am so glad they could make you feel right at home.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We crashed here with some friends for the weekend. We picked it because it was cheap, and that it was close to everything downtown. It's a newer place, and is very clean and fresh. It was a seamless checkin and checkout.

This place was very accomodating and very friendly. The staff really goes the extra mile...a few bottles of water for when you depart, for instance, and all those other small things that shows they really do care about you & your stay.

Parking is around $12 a day, FYI.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank fonixmunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear fonixmunkee,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the check-in and check-out process ran smoothly. We love being close to everything in the city, we never miss a thing! I do hope you found some value in the covered parking structure, it's a convenient asset for us.
Thank you again for the kind words. We look forward to your next stay!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were fortunate enough to stay at this hotel twice in the past few months. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very, very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast in the morning is also very good. The location is convenient and easy to walk to State Street. We love this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Julie L,

Thank you for the kind words, we appreciate them very much! I am glad to hear the staff made you feel right at home, I"ll be happy to pass along the compliment. We love our location too! Being right in the middle of all the action is a tremendous asset.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This brand new Hampton is slightly more upscale than your typical Hampton. The main difference being a spacious lobby with lots of seating areas and at least 2 fireplaces for visiting with friends and colleagues.

The rooms are consistent with other Hamptons with one difference being you just swipe your key rather than inserting it into the lock. They have an attached parking garage for $12 per night. My room was very quiet. Breakfast menu was the same as other Hamptons but the serving and dining area is much larger.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baseball_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear baseball_dad,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the property. We love our location too, so convenient in the downtown area. I hope the covered parking added value to your stay, it's nice to have in a city where parking is limited.
Thank you again for the kind words. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Clean, And Wonderful New Find In A Fabulous City! Staff Was Very Accomodating. Breakfast Was Actually Good For a Free Continental Breakfast. Also Had Lunch In The Restaurant In The Hotel. It Is A New "HOT SPOT" In Town. Great Food, Nice Atmosphere. All in All I HIGHLY REC. THIS NEW HOTEL!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank michellebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInn-Downtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Michellebs,

Thank you for the kind words. Your compliments will be a hit with the team. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff made you feel right at home.
Thank you for your recommendation and taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Michael and the team at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Address: 440 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-2206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of downtown Madison, adjacent to the University of Wisconsin Madison. Our hotel is close to shopping, dining, and leisure options with a free fitness center, indoor swimming pool, and whirlpool. Included in every stay is free hot breakfast, clean and fresh Hampton beds, and free internet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing