We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, top-notch staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“Wonderful hotel, top-notch staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is very clean and modern and the staff provided exceptional service. The breakfast was very good quality. The hotel was quiet and in a great location for walking around downtown Madison. The experience exceeded our expectations and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MJTRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thanks so much for the kind review. I agree, isn't our staff awesome? I'm glad we exceeded your expectations, and you can bet we're just as excited to have you back!

Warm regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    128
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
378
208
38
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our stay was for three nights and we spent most of our time with family in Maple Bluff. This new hotel is in a convenient location near the Capitol building in downtown Madison. Everyone of the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was a "King" with a sitting area and a small kitchen area with a sink, microwave and a small refrigerator. The self parking was convenient but a little expensive at $12 per day. The first day we decided to go into what looked like the main restaurant area to have breakfast and after we realized that it was not the "Free" breakfast we stayed anyway. I ordered an Eggs Benedict without reading the details. It was prepared with sun dried tomatoes and cilantro instead of the usual ham. It was not to my liking and I ended up leaving most of it. So that first morning was a learning experience. The other two mornings we ate breakfast at the buffet which was free and that was just fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you, Dave, for taking the time to review our hotel. We're so glad you liked the room. Our sales team has done their best to keep parking economical based on the local area, but I will make sure to keep your thoughts in mind as we go forward. We hope you choose to stay with us in the future!

Warm regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary in Madison and stayed at this wonderful hotel. The entire staff was welcoming and charming. We especially wish to acknowledge Nathan, Sarah, and Laura for their cheerful nature and sincere desire that our stay would be memorable. Indeed it was. Every aspect of the hotel was superb.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professorMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
How great that you had such a nice anniversary weekend away in Madison! I'll be sure to pass on the kind words to Sarah, Laura, and Nathan! I agree- our staff is the best in all of Madison. We hope to see you soon on a return visit!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a standard room with two queen beds. The building has been completely remodeled. The rooms are clean with modern styling. Even the parking garage is clean with fresh paint and well lit at night. Walking distance to everything downtown. Every time we walked though the lobby someone offered us a cold bottle of water.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Noelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thanks, Noelle, for your kind words. We agree, the Madison/ University of Wisconsin theme and design throughout the hotel helps make this place special!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed there to attend a meeting held at the Memorial Union and Overture Center. Everything was clean, room size was more than enough and stuffs were all friendly. Nice breakfast and wireless available. Walk distance from the city center and the University. Very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Hayato Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thanks for the good review! We agree, we're so lucky to be located so near both the University and the downtown area!

Warm regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

You must stay here if going to UW or downtown! We've stayed in several hotels in town and will always stay here from now on. The hotel is so pretty and clean and the service is the best we've encountered in years! (They even found us a screwdriver to fix our daughter's toy.) The location can't be beat if heading to campus or the capitol. The free hot breakfast is about what you'd expect, but free is free so we can't complain. We can't wait to visit again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank elkebritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Wow, great review! How glad I am that you loved the hotel (and that we were able to help fix the toy)! Know that we look forward to seeing you for future stays!

Warm regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a great addition to Madison. From check-in to check-out it was a great experience. The front desk staff greets everyone through the doors with a big hello. One is provided with a bottle of water at check-in and check-out. The on-site parking was great. It is a little hectic turning into the entrance from Johnson St., so plan your left turn early. The rooms were very quiet and very comfortable. The breakfast was good. It would be nice to have a non-sugar dry cereal. The staff at every turn of the three day stay was enthusiastic and very attentive. I will have no hesitation to return. Great job.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you, Mark, that's great to hear! I agree, it would be nice to have a non-sugar cereal option, and I will look in to adding that to our daily menu to improve your future stays.

Warm regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Address: 440 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-2206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of downtown Madison, adjacent to the University of Wisconsin Madison. Our hotel is close to shopping, dining, and leisure options with a free fitness center, indoor swimming pool, and whirlpool. Included in every stay is free hot breakfast, clean and fresh Hampton beds, and free internet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing