We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest people I've ever met, nice and new hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendliest people I've ever met, nice and new hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The staff was incredibly cheerful, interacting with every guest who walked by and each person who got on/off the elevator. The hotel was very well maintained and looked brand new. Everything was in working order throughout the hotel, which made my stay easy and pleasant. The staff/hotel cleanliness are on par with much more upscale hotels (full-service Hiltons, etc.). A wonderful stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Spectacular!!! I'm smiling after reading this review of our hotel, thank you for letting everyone know about our wonderful staff and fresh, clean building.

Michael, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    123
    24
    2
    4
See reviews for
368
201
38
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stay at a lot of Hampton Inns and this one exceeded our expectations. They had kiddie toys at the pool which was a great touch and to have an attached full-service restaurant with great food was superb. I've often visited the pantry at Hampton Inn's when it was dinner and I had no car. Loved the feel of the hotel....great property and we'd love to stay there again.

Easy access to downtown and a plethora of bars/restaurants.

Room Tip: We came to town in part for the farmer's market on Saturday. Awesome product, but go early. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wineglobelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hello- glad our amenities helped make your stay with us spectacular! We're so lucky to have as delicious an in-house at the Bassett Street Brunch Club (my favorite breakfast entree is the savory french toast- check it out next time you're in town!)

Warm regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This place is brand new, sparkling clean and capable. Right near everything you care about in Madison. Just returned from 3 nights there and can recommend the hotel (the rooms are great), the staff (freshly scrubbed Wisconsin faces) and the restaurant (one of the Food Fight group). Parking is on site, which you will need. You are right in student housing. Great place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Reading this review put a smile on all of our freshly scrubbed Wisco faces. Thank you so much for the words, we hope to see you again soon.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a great hotel in downtown Madison. The parking for check-in was covered and easy to use and the garage was large and safe to park in. The front desk was staffed by several young people and one young lady handled my check-in professionally and in a friendly and informative way. The king studio suite was great - very modern looking and clean with a great layout. I couldn't get a capitol view room but my room on the other side had a good view overlooking the city so no complaints. The room was clean and quiet. Wireless internet was fast enough for streaming and the TV channel selection was decent. The dining area for the free breakfast was spacious. Breakfast fare was typical Hampton - decent but not great. I stayed just one night but would have been quite happy staying longer. I loved the hotel and found Madison to be an interesting place for my road trip stayover. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southwest_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for providing such a warm and detailed review of our hotel. We are so glad we could provide a relaxing oasis while you stopped in Madison.

Michael, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantsburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great staff who shine in the service industry and go the extra mile to be helpful and pleasant. Beautiful, fresh, airy feel everywhere. Fabulous breakfast in lovely, spacious lobby and eating area. Short walk to Memorial Union on Lake Mendota. My whole family raved about this stay. Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Woot!!! We are so excited you loved our staff and hotel! Tell the family we say hello and hope to see you all for a return visit soon!

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Nicest Hampton Inn ever! Very clean and a great location for doing stuff in and around downtown Madison. Easy access to the state capital and the Madison waterfront. Wonderfully helpful staff and, for a Hampton Inn, very fancy accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Q7196SQjohnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We're so pleased pleased you enjoyed your stay and our accommodations. We hope to see you soon for a return visit!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Quick trip into Madison to enjoy the Union Terrace and farmer's market. Great new hotel with perfect location off State Street. Young energetic staff and clean comfortable rooms. Perfect for parents or alum visiting Madison.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Oh how we wish you were able to stay longer than just a quick trip! Glad you enjoyed our city and the hotel. A little tip: next time you're in town at the farmer's market, make sure to grab from Spicy Cheesy Bread from Stella's Bakery.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Address: 440 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-2206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of downtown Madison, adjacent to the University of Wisconsin Madison. Our hotel is close to shopping, dining, and leisure options with a free fitness center, indoor swimming pool, and whirlpool. Included in every stay is free hot breakfast, clean and fresh Hampton beds, and free internet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing