We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two great stays in five days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This Holiday Inn is perfectly situated for us as a stop-over between central Indiana and Minneapolis (just can't make that 10-hr trip all in one day anymore!). The staff is consistently friendly and helpful, the lobby fireplace and aquarium very pleasant, the restaurant convenient and reasonably good (really good coffee) with lots of tv screens. All the rooms we have stayed in have been very clean and well furnished, with very comfortable beds and lots of big, fluffy pillows. There's a good Irish pub/restaurant and also a gas station about a minute away in the same business park. Good value here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank golliwog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thanks for the positive feedback. It's a pleasure to hear that each time you have stayed at the Holiday Inn Madison, we have met your expectations and that your stay with us was enojyable. We look forward to seeing you on that next multi state trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

For a business hotel this is OK. Not at all luxurious. But, hey, the rate was $69/night, corporate rate. The rooms are clean and basic. Free Internet, some soap and shampoo. No tub, it's an enclosed shower. The view is nothing to speak of.

The restaurant has a breakfast buffet which unimaginative but basic fuel and the staff is nice. One thing that drove me nuts was a front desk person who smacked gum and new almost nothing about the area and was even rude about finding anything out. She shouldn't be in the travel business.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelswithmyTeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

I apologize that you found our property to be just “OK” on your recent visit. It is our goal to have every guest leave satisfied with their stay and pleased with the level of service they received. I will take your comments on those areas that we fell short and share them with our staff. It is our goal to make the necessary improvements so your next visit with us is more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a very nice hotel on Madison's east side near the freeway. My room was clean and the HVAC system was adequate, but a bit on the noisy side. Furnishings were in good condition.

Technology was the reason my ratting is not the best. 1) no outlets near the bed for phone/tablet charging. 2) the TV had no HDMI ports (I use to mirror my laptop and/or watch Netflix. The hotel's TV choice was a major satellite provider, but not all channels were available.

I would not return here solely because I need an HDMI port in my room--all other hotels unavailable, would have no problem staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooring10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We understand the importance of staying up to date with technology and we have placed a greater emphasis on upgrading to a higher level over time. We recently updated our TV selection through a new provider and are eliminating those stations in the channel directory that are not available. With this upgrade, we have increased the number of HD stations available, We are also in the process of upgrading our internet for a much better guest experience. While our TV's are LCD, they are an early version and some ports are not available. We are replacing these units over time to a newer model. Thanks for your comments and we hope that at some point you will visit us again in Madison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Holiday in at Uniontown was fantastic! Hotel reservation through hotels.com cost me $60. Never again. Staff was extremely accommodating. Location for travel in the area was ideal. New mattresses in some places would be great. Restaurant in hotel was wonderful.



  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn after the Badger football game. Our room was on the 5th floor. The hotel was quiet and we got a good night's sleep. We had plenty of space in our room. It was very clean. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. We had a nice tv so we could watch more football in the evening (plenty of stations). The staff was very friendly.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review!
We are pleased to see that you found our property to be clean and comfortable and that your stay with us was relaxing. We will certainly share your comments with our team members as it is always great to see such a great review. We hope to see you again when in Madison. GO WISCONSIN!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stay at this place in Madison. Great staff the rooms were comfortable. Hotel was clean. This place had the best exercise room I have ever seen at a chain restaurant. As a marathoner/athlete who is on the road a lot, the work out facilities make a huge difference to me!!! Nice work

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thanks for the great review! Providing a quality product and exceptional service are always our goal. We are happy to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Our fitness room is by far the best in the area providing state of the art Matrix equipment. We often hear from our guests how much they love the fitness facilities. Thanks for a great review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I just returned from a week at the H.I. Madison at The American Center.

Location is in an industrial park several highways so easy access for a road trip overnight or for navigating the Madison East area. Less than 10 minutes to the Capital.

We stayed on the 5th floor which I believe they call the Club Floor-Nice room, large enough with walk in shower and king bed. Clean and appropriate for a Holiday Inn.

Towels were a bit thread worn and thin, but we could've gotten more I'm sure if needed. The bathroom was sparse and had some staining on the faux granite countertop, but it was clean and roomy none-the-less.

Breakfast was downstairs at an additional charge ($10.95 I think for the buffet) although the front desk team did provide complementary vouchers for one morning which was nice (we're IHG Gold).

A nice surprise was that they provide a complementary van service to the airport if you ever get stuck and need a competitively priced place to stay.

Compared to the others, this was our second stay here in the last few years, and for the money, it's a safe bet.






Clean,

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyboilermaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison
0.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#17 of 63 in Madison
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#23 of 63 in Madison
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center

Address: 5109 W Terrace Dr, Madison, WI 53718-8344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Madison
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range: £71 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center welcomes you! Located in The American Center Corporate Park on Madison's east side and only minutes from the Dane County Regional Airport (MSN) and the East Towne Mall.Visitors can relax amid peaceful surroundings and enjoy the area attractions such as the Capitol Square, Madison's historic State Street, the Overture Center for the Arts, the Alliant Energy Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Just off I90/94, corporate guests can easily access American Family Insurance, Alliant Energy, QBE, GE Healthcare, and U.S. Cellular. While staying at our Madison, Wisconsin hotel, you can enjoy amenities including a full service restaurant and bar, Seattle's best coffee kiosk, island themed indoor pool with spa and professionally designed fitness center featuring top of the line Matrix equipment. Our comfortable and contemporary guest rooms offer free high-speed wired/wireless Internet access, flat panel HDTV's, room service and a personal refrigerator. Host your next meeting or event with us and let our professional staff assist you. With over 2,500sq ft. of meeting space, on-site catering, executive chef and audiovisual equipment available your next event is guaranteed to be a success! As you plan a trip to Madison, WI, check out our terrific Madison hotel rates and make your reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Madison At The American Hotel Madison
Madison Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing